Hindustantimes wants to start sending you push notifications. Click allow to subscribe

CSK vs KKR to kick off IPL 2022 as BCCI releases full schedule, 12 double-headers and 70 league matches to be played

By, New Delhi
Mar 06, 2022 04:48 PM IST

IPL 2022 schedule: Chennai Super Kings, led by MS Dhoni, will lock horns with Shreyas Iyer's Kolkata in the first game of the season.

The IPL 2022 will kick off with reigning and four-time champions Chennai Super Kings taking on Kolkata Knight Riders on March 26 at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium, the BCCI announced on Sunday. The IPL 2022 opener is a repeat of last year's final, in which CSK defeated KKR by 27 runs to be crowned champions. (Also Read: IPL 2022 to begin from March 26, confirms chairman Brijesh Patel)

It's MS Dhoni vs Shreyas Iyer in the IPL 2022 opener. (IPL/Getty)

The two new entrants in the IPL, the Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans will open their accounts two days later on March 28 when they face each other, also at the Wankhede Stadium. IPL 2022 will feature 12 double-headers, six each on Saturday and Sunday, with a total of 70 league matches to be played stretching over two months.

Unlock exclusive access to the latest news on India's general elections, only on the HT App. Download Now! Download Now!

"A total number of 70 league matches and 4 Playoff games will be played in the duration of 65 days. The 15th season will start on 26th March at the Wankhede stadium with a blockbuster clash between Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders," the BCCI said in a statement.

"On 27th March, the league will stage its first double-header starting off with a Day game at Brabourne where the Delhi Capitals will square off against Mumbai Indians. The DY Patil Stadium will host the clash between Punjab Kings & Royal Challengers Bangalore at night."

The IPL 2022 will be played across four stadiums, with 20 matches each to played at the Wankhede and DY Patil Stadium, and 15 each at the Brabourne and MCA Stadium in Pune. Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals will feature in the penultimate match on May 21 at the Wankhede, while the final league match would see Sunrisers Hyderabad take on the Punjab Kings. The schedule for the IPL Playoffs are yet to be released.

Five-time champions Mumbai Indians will play four matches at their home ground of Wankhede - against LSG on April 24, CSK on May 12, SRH on May 17 and DC on May 21. Initially it was reported that the remaining seven franchises had raised objection to matches being played at the Wankhede stadium, believing it gives MI an advantage but the BCCI has divided them across all the four venues.

Catch every big hit, every wicket with Crick-it, a one stop destination for Live Scores, Match Stats, Quizzes, Polls & much more.Explore now !.

Stay updated with the latest cricket news, T20 World Cup 2024 updates, and match highlights. Explore the World Cup Schedule 2024, track the World Cup Points Table, follow Virat Kohli's performance, and stay ahead with the stats on World Cup Most Wickets and World Cup Most Runs on the Hindustan Times website and app.
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now