Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 21, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Hashim Amla breaks Virat Kohli’s record as fastest player to 7000 ODI runs

Hashim Amla broke Virat Kohli’s record and became the fastest to 7000 ODI runs during South Africa’s third and final game of the series against England at Lord’s.

cricket Updated: May 29, 2017 22:36 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Hashim Amla,Virat Kohli,Indian Cricket Team
Hashim Amla surpassed Virat Kohli to become the fastest to 7000 ODI runs during South Africa’s game against England at the Lord’s on Monday. (Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

Hashim Amla shattered Virat Kohli’s ODI record during the third match between England and South Africa in Lord’s as he became the fastest to aggregate 7000 runs.

(Read | Why Hashim Amla is the most dangerous batsman at ICC Champions Trophy)

The South African opener reached the landmark ( in his 150th ODI innings) in the seventh over of the innings as he pulled England pacer Steven Finn to the deep square leg fence for a boundary.

(Read | ICC Champions Trophy: Ross Taylor tired of New Zealand’s runner-up tag)

Virat Kohli had held the record after he went past 7000 ODI runs in 169 innings. The current India skipper reached the milestone during the ODI against Australia in Melbourne in January 2016. It was a memorable match for Kohli as he slammed his 24th century, but India lost by three wickets.

(Read | Richard Levi, former South Africa international, recovering well after head blow)

Amla has been in magnificent form in 2017. In the Indian Premier League, he slammed two centuries playing for Kings XI Punjab. Overall, he ended the tournament with 420 runs at an average of 60. In the two matches against England before the Lord’s ODI, he had scores of 73 and 24.

The former South Africa skipper also holds the record for the fastest to 6000 ODI runs, having got there in 123 innings. He was also the fastest to 5000, 4000, 3000 and 2000 runs, having got to the landmarks in 101, 81, 57 and 40 innings respectively.

First Published: May 29, 2017 20:36 IST