HT Image
HT Image

Pakistan staring exit after shock defeat to Ireland

Ireland upset Pakistan by three wickets in the World Cup Group D match at Sabina Park.
IANS | By HT Correspondent, Kingston (jamaica)
UPDATED ON MAR 18, 2007 08:39 AM IST

A stunned Pakistan were staring an early exit from the cricket World Cup on Saturday after their second successive defeat, this time by three wickets to Ireland in one of the biggest upsets in the tournament history.

Inzamam-ul-Haq's Pakistani side, which had lost to the West Indies in the tournament opener Tuesday, still have no point after two matches in Group D.

Pakistan, champions in 1992, will now have to beat Zimbabwe in the third and final group match on Wednesday, and then wait for the results of other matches as only two teams each from the four groups will progress to the next round.

Pakistan were all out for 132 in 45.4 overs with no batsman reaching 30, while Ireland scored 133 for seven wickets in 41.4 overs to earn two points from this match at Sabina Park. Ireland also have one point from the 'tie' against Zimbabwe Thursday.

Ireland captain Trent Johnson, who remained unbeaten on nine, clinched the win with a six. Kevin O'Brien was the other unbeaten batsman with a precious 15.

Niall O'Brien with 72 (107 balls, 6x4s, 1x6) and Boyd Rankin, who took three wickets, were the stars of the improbable win. O'Brien was adjudged the Man of the Match.

Andre Botha and Kyle McCallan captured two wickets apiece to prove that their captain Trent Johnston's decision to bowl first after winning the toss was a correct one.


Match No 9, Pakistan vs. Ireland, Sabina Park, Kingston


Mohammad Hafeez c Niall O'Brien b Langford-Smith 4
Imran Nazir c Morgan b Botha 24
Younis Khan c Botha b Rankin 0
Mohammad Yousuf c Porterfield b Johnston 15
Inzamam-ul-Haq c Morgan b Botha 1
Shoaib Malik c Niall O'Brien b Kevin O'Brien 9
Kamran Akmal c Johnston b Rankin 27
Azhar Mahmood c Johnston b Rankin 2
Mohammad Sami c Bray b McCallan 12
Iftikhar Anjum not out 8
Umar Gul c substitute b McCallan 1
Extras: (leg byes 3, wides 23, no ball 3) 29
Total: (all out in 45.4 overs) 132

Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Hafeez, 0.6 overs), 2-15 (Younis, 3.3), 3-56 (Yousuf, 12.5), 4-58 (Inzamam, 13.1), 5-66 (Nazir, 17.6), 6-72 (Malik, 20.3), 7-103 (Mahmood, 30.2), 8-105 (Akmal, 30.5), 9-130 (Sami, 43.1)

Dave Langford-Smith 10 1 31 1 (1nb, 5w)
Boyd Rankin 9 1 32 3 (1nb, 13w)
Andre Botha 8 4 5 2
Trent Johnston 7 1 20 1 (1nb, 4w)
Kevin O'Brien 6 0 29 1 (1w)
Kyle McCallan 5.4 1 12 2

Jeremey Bray lbw b Sami 3
William Porterfield b Hafeez 13
Eoin Morgan lbw b Sami 2
Niall O'Brien st Akmal b Malik 72
Andre Botha c Hafeez b Sami 0
Kevin O'Brien not out 15
Andrew White c Hafeez b Anjum 4
Kyle McCallan c Younis b Anjum 0
Trent Johnston not out 9
Extras: (lb 3, w 11, nb 1) 15
Total: (for 7 wickets in 41.4 overs) 133

Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Bray, 3.1 overs), 2-15 (Morgan, 5.3), 3-62 (Porterfield, 20.6), 4-70 (Botha, 23.6), 5-108 (N. O'Brien, 33.6), 6-113 (White, 34.5), 7-113 (McCallan, 34.6)

Umar Gul 9 0 24 0 (3w)
Mohammad Sami 10 0 29 3 (3w)
Iftikhar Anjum 10 0 28 2 (3w)
Azhar Mahmood 7.4 1 25 0 (2w)
Mohammad Hafeez 4 0 15 1
Shoaib Malik 1 0 9 1 (1nb)

Result: Ireland won by three wickets
Man of the Match: Niall O'Brien
Umpires: Brian Jerling (South Africa) and Brent 'Billy' Bowden (New Zealand)
Third umpire: Simon Taufel (Australia)
Fourth umpire: Ian Gould (England)
Match referee: Chris Broad (England)

Story Saved