Strauss insists Hughes catch was clean
England captain Andrew Strauss insisted he caught Phillip Hughes cleanly during the second Ashes Test here at Lord's as the International Cricket Council (ICC) defended the umpires' use of replays.cricket Updated: Jul 20, 2009 22:15 IST
England captain Andrew Strauss insisted he caught Phillip Hughes cleanly during the second Ashes Test here at Lord's as the International Cricket Council (ICC) defended the umpires' use of replays.
Strauss claimed a low slip catch to dismiss Phillip Hughes on the fourth day of a match England ultimately won by 115 runs to end their 75-year winless streak at Lord's and so go 1-0 up in the five-Test series with three to play.
The batsman started to walk off the field but was told to stay put by Australia captain Ricky Ponting.
During Saturday's third day Rudi Koertzen, standing in his 100th Test, and Billy Doctrove referred a catch claimed by Australia's Nathan Hauritz off England's Ravi Bopara to third umpire Nigel Llong.
But in Hughes's case there was no referral, with Koertzen and Doctrove deciding Hughes was out without calling in Llong, even though replays again made it seem uncertain if the catch had been taken cleanly.
"This is one of the real problems of technology," Strauss told reporters after England had wrapped up victory on Monday.
"I felt 100 percent I caught the ball, I've got a couple of bruised fingers where the ball, I felt, bounced off. On the slow motion it looked like it hit the ground. It's a tricky one."
ICC Test-match playing regulations state "the umpire at the bowler's end shall be entitled to refer an appeal for a caught decision to the third umpire if both he and the square-leg umpire are unable to decide whether a catch was taken cleanly".
Match referee Jeff Crowe said in an ICC statement: "In the first instance, when Nathan Hauritz was the fielder, the on-field umpires consulted and neither was able to decide if the catch was taken cleanly so they referred the decision to the third umpire.
"However, in the second instance, when Andrew Strauss was the fielder, the square-leg umpire (Doctrove) was confident the catch was taken cleanly and so did not refer it to the third umpire," former New Zealand captain Crowe added.
"It is simply a question of whether either on-field umpire is able to make the call himself or if he needs advice from the third umpire.
"If he is confident of the decision then he will make it himself regardless of how near or far away the incident took place," explained Crowe.
Australia coach Tim Nielsen was clearly unhappy Llong had not been called in to rule on Hughes's dismissal, saying after stumps on Sunday: "I would have liked to have seen it go to the third umpire from a consistency point of view."
But Australia captain Ricky Ponting was keen to put the row behind him, saying on Monday: "At the end of the day we've been beaten by more than 100 runs in a Test match. We can't change anything that happened."
Australia were on the wrong end of several decisions during the course of the game.
Ponting was given out caught in the first innings, although he may well have been lbw in any event.
And in Australia's second innings Simon Katich was given out caught when Andrew Flintoff should have been called for a no-ball.
Then Michael Hussey was ruled to have nicked off-spinner Graeme Swann to slip when replays showed the ball had missed the edge of his bat.
A new referral procedure, which will allow teams to appeal against the on-field umpires' decisions, is due to come into force in October.
The third Test starts at Edgbaston on July 30.