Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 09, 2018-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep in Sri Lanka squad for tri-series vs India, Bangladesh

Suranga Lakmal and Nuwan Pradeep return to the Sri Lanka squad from injuries for the upcoming Nidahas Trophy tri-series featuring India and Bangladesh.

cricket Updated: Mar 01, 2018 13:09 IST
HT Correspondent
Suranga Lakmal,Nuwan Pradeep,Nidahas Trophy
Suranga Lakmal will be back in the Sri Lanka squad for the upcoming T20 tri-series against India and Bangladesh.(AP)

Suranga Lakmal and Nuwan Pradeep have been named in Sri Lanka’s squad for the Nidahas Trophy tri-series, adding some much-needed experience to the home side’s pace bowling attack.

Aside from the stalwarts, Sri Lanka have also included fast bowlers Dushmantha Chameera and Isuru Udana, the latter of whom has played 15 T20 internationals.

READ | Sourav Ganguly laments not having MS Dhoni in India’s 2003 World Cup squad

The hosts have named just two specialist spinners in Akila Dananjaya and Amila Aponso. Jeevan Mendis, the leg-spinning all-rounder, will likely serve as a third spin option if needed.

They retained the majority of the batsmen that played in the Bangladesh series with the exception of Niroshan Dickwella, who was left out of the squad in favour of Dhananjaya de Silva.

READ | Wasim Akram version 2! Video of Pakistani kid with identical action emerges

Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne and Shehan Madushanka were all unavailable for selection due to injury.

The Nidahas Trophy will begin on March 6 and concludes on March 18. The tournament will be played exclusively in the city of Colombo.

T20 squad: Dinesh Chandimal (C), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Suranga Lakmal, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Dananjaya de Silva.

First Published: Mar 01, 2018 13:09 IST