Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 17, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Congress names candidates for Meghalaya, Tripura assembly polls

The Congress released a list of 56 candidates in Tripura and 57 in Meghalaya, where assembly elections will be held on February 18 and 27, respectively.

Meghalaya Elections 2018 Updated: Feb 09, 2018 14:31 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, New Delhi
Congress,Meghalaya assembly election,Tripura assembly election
A Congress worker waves the party flag during a function in New Delhi. The party released a list of candidates for the Meghalaya and Tripura assembly elections.(AP)

The Congress released the names of its candidates on Saturday for the Meghalaya and Tripura assembly elections to be held next month, with Meghalaya chief minister Mukul Sangma contesting from two seats.

The party released a list of 57 candidates in Meghalaya and 56 in Tripura. The strength of the two assemblies is 60 members each.

The Congress is seeking to come back to power in Meghalaya and ousting the CPI(M) in Tripura where the Left front has been in power for the last 25 years.

According to the list, the Meghalaya chief minister will be contesting from Songsak and Ampathi constituencies.

Tripura will go to polls on February 18, followed by Nagaland and Meghalaya on February 27.

Counting of votes will take place in three states on March 3.

First Published: Jan 27, 2018 19:28 IST