Meghalaya bypoll results today, CM Conrad Sangma likely to win
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Meghalaya bypoll results today, CM Conrad Sangma likely to win

By-elections to South Tura and Ranikor assembly seats in Meghalaya were held on August 23.

india Updated: Aug 27, 2018 07:02 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Shillong
Meghalaya,Meghalaya bypoll,Conrad Sangma
Meghalaya chief minister and National People’s Party (NPP) chief Conrad K Sangma addresses a party meeting in Guwahati on August 11.(PTI File Photo)

Counting of votes in the two assembly bypolls in Meghalaya, including South Tura from where chief minister Conrad Sangma is contesting, will be held on Monday.

The turnout in the two assembly seats, where voting took place on Thursday, saw a marginal dip from the February 27 assembly elections with South Tura recording 72.89% against 73.59% then and Ranikor, 85.89% against 89.5%.

The bypolls had gone off smoothly, save a few technical glitches in both constituencies.

In South Tura which has 30,231 voters - 14,846 males and 15,351 females, 33 service voters and one NRI, Conrad K Sangma of the ruling National People’s Party faced Congress’ Charlotte W Momin, and two independents — former legislator John Leslee Sangma and Chris Kabul A Sangma.

Barring John Leslee Sangma, the other three candidates could not vote themselves as they were registered in other constituencies.

The seat was held by the chief minister’s sister and former Union minister Agatha Sangma, who had vacated it so that he could enter the assembly.

Conrad Sangma, who had voted early on Thursday, along with wife Mehtab Chandee, mother Soradini K Sangma and sister Agatha Sangma, had told journalists that the voters had realised it is not just about an MLA but it is about electing the chief minister.

“Therefore they are equally excited and I am sure that we will come out in flying colours,” he had said, adding, “I am sure that we would come out victorious in this particular election.”

The bypoll in Ranikor was necessitated after five-time sitting Congress legislator Martin M Danggo resigned to join the NPP.

Fielded again by the ruling party, he faces Jackiush Sangma from the Congress, United Democratic Party’s Pius Marwein and PN Syiem of the People’s Democratic Front.

The constituency in South West Khasi Hills District has a total of 29,685 voters - 15,183 males, 14,487 females and 15 service voters.

First Published: Aug 26, 2018 23:59 IST