Modi ministry reshuffle: Likely fresh faces in the government
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Modi ministry reshuffle: Likely fresh faces in the government

Several new faces, including a few from the Dalit community, are likely to be included in an expansion and reshuffle of the Union council of ministers.

india Updated: Jul 05, 2016 11:35 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Modi cabinet reshuffle,Fresh faces in Modi cabinet,Modi Cabinet
Prime Minister Narendra Modi during the Inaugural Session of the two-day ‘Annual Conference of Tax Administrators 2016’ in New Delhi on Thursday.PTI Photo by Manvender Vashist(PTI6_16_2016_000035A)(PTI file photo)

Several new faces, including a few from the Dalit community, are likely to be included in an expansion and reshuffle of the Union council of ministers.

Here is a look at the likely fresh faces:

Read | UP polls, Dalit outreach in focus as Modi reshuffles cabinet

Likely to be included

Ajay Tamta
MP, Almora

Ajay Tamta is a member of Parliament from Almora in Uttarakhand. He belongs to the Dalit community
Anupriya Patel
MP, Mirzapur | Apna Dal

Anupriya Patel is the daughter of Sonelal Patel, the founder of Apna Dal. She has a masters degree in psychology and an MBA
Arjun Ram Meghwal
MP, Bikaner

BJP’s chief whip in Lok Sabha, he cycled to Parliament when Delhi imposed traffic rationing measures to check air pollution
Krishna Raj
MP, Shahjahanpur

Krishna Raj is a Dalit leader and a two-time legislator
Mahendra Pandey
MP, Chandauli

Mahendra Nath Pandey holds a masters degree and a PhD in Hindi. He has adopted a village in Chandauli’s Jharkhor Kalan
Parshottam Rupala
Rajya Sabha MP, Gujarat

Influential Patel leader from Saurashtra, Rupala is a national VP of the BJP and often talked about as a CM candidate in Gujarat
Ramdas Athawale
Rajya Sabha MP, Maharashtra | Republican Party of India

A Dalit leader in Maharashtra, he was an ally of the Congress and the NCP before partnering with the Shiv Sena-BJP in 2012
SS Ahluwalia
MP, Darjeeling

SS Ahluwalia was first elected to Parliament from Bihar in 1986. He has previously held the posts of minister of state for urban development and minister for parliamentary affairs at the Centre
Vijay Goel
Rajya Sabha MP, Rajasthan

Former Union Minister, BJP national general secretary and president of the party’s Delhi unit Vijay Goel is currently a member of the Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan.
CR Choudhary
MP, Nagaur

Chhotu Ram Chaudhary is a BJP MP from the Nagaur constituency in Rajasthan.
MJ Akbar
Rajya Sabha MP, Jharkhand

A veteran journalist and author, Akbar is currently the BJP’s national spokesperson and Rajya Sabha MP from Jharkhand. Akbar has served as the editor-in-chief of several newspapers like, The Telegraph, Deccan Chronicle and the Sunday Guardian.
Anil Madhav Dave
Rajya Sabha MP, Madhya Pradesh

A Rajya Sabha member from Madhya Pradesh, Dave was a member of the BJP’s poll management committee in Madhya Pradesh in both the 2003 and 2013 assembly polls.
Faggan Singh Kulaste
MP, Mandla

BJP’s tribal face in Parliament, Kulaste is the President of the party’s schedule tribe wing. The Lok Sabha MP from Mandla is was a minister of state in Vajpayee government.
Mansukh Mandaviya
Rajya Sabha MP, Gujarat

Mandaviya is a BJP member of the Rajya Sabha from the state of Gujarat.
Jaswantsinh Bhabhor
MP, Dahod

A Lok Sabha MP from Dahod, Jaswantsinh Bhabhor also serves as the BJP’s vice-president for Gujarat.
Subhash Bhamre
MP, Dhule

BJP’s Bhamre is a Lok Sabha MP the industrially-backward Dhule constituency in Maharashtra. Bhamre is a practicing medical doctor and a member of the health and family planning committee of Lok Sabha.
Ramesh Jigajinagi
MP, Bijapur

Jigajinagi is a Lok Sabha MP for the BJP from the Bijapur constituency of Karnataka. The dalit leader was elected thrice to the Karnataka Assembly and held home, excise, social welfare and revenue portfolios.
Rajen Gohain
MP, Nowgong

BJP’s Rajen Gohain is Lok Sabha MP from the Nowgong constituency in Assam. He has held the seat since 1999.

Some Union ministers in the cabinet might be promoted to reward their performances over the last two years.

Likely to be promoted

Piyush Goyal
Power Minister

A CA and an investment banker, Goyal is regarded as one of the top performers of the Modi government
Dharmendra Pradhan
Petroleum Minister

Odisha politician earned praise for reducing corporate influence in the oil ministry and reducing petroleum subsidies
Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi
MoS Minority Affairs

Arguably the government’s best known Muslim face, Naqvi started his political career with the Janata Party
Sanjeev Balyan
MP, Uttar Pradesh

He has a PhD in veterinary anatomy and is an accused in the 2014 Muzaffarnagar riot
Prakash Javadekar
Environment, Forests and Climate Change Minister

Javadekar a senior member of the BJP is the union minister of State for Environment, Forests and Climate Change and the Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs

First Published: Jul 05, 2016 10:48 IST