NDA is 'Muslim mukth', says Omar Abdullah ahead of government formation | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

NDA is 'Muslim mukth', says Omar Abdullah ahead of government formation

Jun 07, 2024 12:38 PM IST

Omar Abdullah criticises NDA for lack of minority representation in government formation

Former chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir Omar Abdullah on June 7 hit out at the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance for almost no representation of minorities in the government.

Former Jammu and Kashmir CM Omar Abdullah (HT File)
Former Jammu and Kashmir CM Omar Abdullah (HT File)

His response has come just ahead of the government formation at the Centre.

“It’s not just the BJP, the NDA is Muslim mukth, Christian mukth, Buddhist mukth, Sikh mukth and yet the government will claim to represent 140 crore Indians,” Omar wrote on X (formerly Twitter).

Omar’s response was to a report, highlighting that the MPs elected from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and various other parties that are part of the NDA were Hindus.

Read: BJP-led NDA meeting today, Chandrababu Naidu asks all TDP MPs to attend it

The Lok Sabha polls for 543 seats were held in seven phases starting from April 19, with the last phase on June 1. The Bharatiya Janata Party has won 240 seats in the 543-member Lok Sabha, while its partners have won 53 seats including TDP (16), JDU (12), Shiv Sena (7), LJPRV (5), JD-S (2), JNP (2), RLD (2), ADAL (1), AGP (1), AJSUP (1), HAMS (1), NCP (1), SKM (1), and UPPL (1).

The BJP had fielded only one Muslim candidate Abdul Salam from Kerala’s Malappuram constituency, who was defeated by Indian Union Muslim League leader Mohammed Basheer with a margin of 30,0,118 votes.

The newly elected MPs of the Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance met in New Delhi on Friday, June 7, to elect Narendra Modi as their leader. Telugu Desam Party supremo N Chandrababu Naidu had directed all party MPs to attend NDA's meeting.

Also read: ‘In 1989, Rajiv Gandhi…’: Sachin Pilot on why Narendra Modi shouldn't form govt

The TDP alone won 16 MP seats in Andhra Pradesh, while the NDA alliance of TDP, BJP and Janasena collectively won the lion's share of 21 seats out of 25.

Narendra Modi will take the oath of office for his third consecutive term as prime minister at a swearing-in ceremony likely to be held on Sunday, June 9.

Catch every big hit, every wicket with Crickit, a one stop destination for Live Scores, Match Stats, Infographics & much more. Explore now!

See more

Get Current Updates on India News, Budget 2024, Weather Today along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Monday, July 22, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On