Telangana Election Results 2023: CM KCR trailing from Kamareddy, leads in Gajwel | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

Telangana Election Results 2023: CM KCR trailing from Kamareddy against Revanth Reddy, leads in Gajwel

Dec 03, 2023 03:05 PM IST

Telangana Congress president A Revanth Reddy had secured 7,658 votes at 10.50am from the Kamareddy constituency.

Telangana chief minister K Chandrashekar Rao (KCR) was trailing from the Kamareddy seat behind state Congress president A Revanth Reddy by more than 3,335 votes after the 11 rounds of counting for the assembly election 2023, according to the Election Commission of India data. There was some respite for KCR as the trends showed that the CM, who contested from the two seats, was leading from the Gajwel constituency with a vote margin of 11, 714 against his nearest rival Eatala Rajender of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Telangana chief minister and Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) chief K Chandrashekar Rao. (ANI Photo)
Telangana chief minister and Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) chief K Chandrashekar Rao. (ANI Photo)

Revanth Reddy had secured 36,673 votes at 2.58pm from the Kamareddy constituency. Revanth Reddy was also to be leading from the Kodangal seat.

Hindustan Times - your fastest source for breaking news! Read now.

Since the formation of the state in 2014, the Bharat Rashtra Samiti (BRS) has been holding power with KCR as its chief minister. As per ECI data.

The Kamareddy assembly constituency is one of the four seats in the state's Kamareddy district. It is part of the Zaheerabad Lok Sabha. TRS (now BRS) has been a dominant force on the seat. The party's Gampa Govardhan won the election in 2009, 2011, 2014 and 2018. In 2018, Govardhan defeated Congress party's Mohammed Ali Shabbir by a narrow margin. In 2023, KCR is contesting against Congress stalwart Revanth Reddy.

If the trends by the Election Commission of India data are to be believed, the Congress has comfortably crossed the halfway mark in the Telangana assembly elections 2023, leading in 64, while the BRS was leading on 40 and the BJP led in eight seats.

The majority mark to win the elections is 60 in 119 seats.

Congress supporters were seen bursting firecrackers and raising slogans outside the residence of Revanth Reddy in Hyderabad.

Other main candidates Gaddam Vinod was leading from Bellampalli while Murali Naik Bhukya was leading from Mahabubabad, according to the first round of counting.

Speaking on the trends, BJP MP K Laxman said, "In Telangana, people were wanting a change. Corruption by BRS, dynasty politics, and appeasement politics were the three main issues that affected people. In the initial count, Congress is leading in many places. But I believe that the BJP will play an important role."

The Telangana election results will be important for the Congress as it heads into the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. A win in Karnataka and Telangana would further concrete its presence in the South.

Unveiling 'Elections 2024: The Big Picture', a fresh segment in HT's talk show 'The Interview with Kumkum Chadha', where leaders across the political spectrum discuss the upcoming general elections. Watch Now!

Get Current Updates on India News, Gyanvapi Case, Farmers Protest Live along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world
Share this article

    Follow the latest breaking news and developments from India and around the world with Hindustan Times' newsdesk. From politics and policies to the economy and the environment, from local issues to national events and global affairs, we've got you covered.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Monday, February 26, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On