Golfer Amandeep Drall best Indian at tied-44th in New South Wales Open

Indian golfer Amandeep Drall seemed set for a fine 2-under round before she courted disaster on the closing par-4 18th which she triple bogeyed at the New South Wales Open.

other sports Updated: Mar 03, 2018 18:09 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, Coffs Harbour (Australia)
Amandeep Drall,New South Wales Open,golf
Indian golfer Amandeep Drall is taking part in the New South Wales Open in Australia.(Twitter)

Amandeep Drall (72) was the best Indian at Tied-44th while Sharmila Nicollet (74) and Gaurika Bishnoi (76) were Tied 50th and 58th respectively after the third round of the Women’s New South Wales Open here today.

Amandeep seemed set for a fine 2-under round, before she courted disaster on the closing Par-4 18th which she triple bogeyed. That saw her drop to 72.

READ | For defending Indian Open champ SSP Chawrasia familiarity breeds confidence

In contrast, Sharmila was five-over through 12 holes, before she found her only two birdies of the day that saw her finish at 74 while Gaurika had five bogeys and no birdies.

Meanwhile, England’s Meghan MacLaren fired her best score on the Ladies European Tour – a six-under-par 65 – to move to 10-under-par and take a two-stroke lead into the final round.

The 23-year-old from Rushton in Northamptonshire carded eight birdies and two bogeys in fine conditions on day three at Coffs Harbour Golf Club.

Meghan is two ahead of Norwegian rookie Marita Engzelius, with Australian Rebecca Artis, Thailand’s Pannarat Thanapolboonyaras and Silvia Bañon three strokes further back in, tied third.

READ | Shubhankar Sharma upstages big names to take lead in WGC-Mexico Championship

The other challengers will include Austrian Sarah Schober, whose 65 equalled the low round of the day, Australians Sarah Kemp and Jihye Park, Lydia Hall from Wales, Germany’s Olivia Cowan and Camilla Lennarth from Sweden. All of them will start the last day six strokes back.

Due to the threat of afternoon thunderstorms, there will be earlier tee times for the final round and the leading three-ball of MacLaren, Engzelius and Artis will start at 8.54am local time.

First Published: Mar 03, 2018 18:09 IST