Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 19, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Prakash Padukone to receive BAI’s maiden lifetime achievement award

Prakash Padukone will receive Badminton Association of India’s (BAI) maiden lifetime achievement award.

other sports Updated: Sep 11, 2017 20:30 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Prakash Padukone,Badminton Association of India,Himanta Biswa Sarma
Prakash Padukone will receive Badminton Association of India’s (BAI) first lifetime achievement award.(Badminton India/Twitter)

The Badminton Association of India (BAI) on Monday announced that they will bestow Lifetime Achievement Awards annually to the greats of the game and named Prakash Padukone as the first recipient.

Padukone, who is the only Indian male player to reach the world No 1 ranking, will be awarded a cash award of R10 lakh and a citation.

READ | PV Sindhu to lead Indian squad, Saina Nehwal, K Srikanth to skip Korea Open

The announcement was made by BAI president Himanta Biswa Sarma on the sidelines of the BWF World Senior Championships in Kochi.

“This is the first time that BAI has come up with such an award as it is time we recognise the immense contribution of these stalwarts towards the growth of badminton in the country. No other name would have been apt but Prakash Padukone’s to confer the first award. A grand ceremony will be organised in New Delhi soon to felicitate him,” Sarma said.

READ | MR Arjun-Shlok Ramchandran enter Vietnam Open semis

It was also announced that there will be a significant rise in the prize money of National Championships, and close to Rs.1 crore will be doled out this year onwards.

“We will be increasing the prize money to nearly Rs.1 crore from this year and the players will get prize money from the pre-quarters stage onwards,” said Sarma.

READ | Saina Nehwal gives Shraddha Kapoor badminton tips for upcoming biopic

He also confirmed participation of top players, including PV Sindhu, Saina Nehwal, Kidambi Srikanth in the Nationals. The Nationals will be held in Nagpur from November 1 to 7.

First Published: Sep 11, 2017 20:30 IST