New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Dec 05, 2019-Thursday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Friday, Dec 06, 2019

Chronology of Musharraf's rule

Pakistan's ruling coalition announced that it would launch impeachment proceedings against President Pervez Musharraf.

world Updated: Aug 07, 2008 18:47 IST


Pakistan's ruling coalition announced on Thursday that it would launch impeachment proceedings against President Pervez Musharraf.

Here is a brief chronology of major political developments since 1999 when, as army chief, he seized power:


October 12: Musharraf overthrows prime minister Nawaz Sharif after Sharif sacks him as army chief.


May 13: Supreme Court validates coup.

December: Sharif is freed from prison on hijacking and corruption charges, exiled to Saudi Arabia and banned from returning to Pakistan for 10 years.


June 20: Musharraf declares himself president after the incumbent, Mohammad Rafiq Tarar, resigns.

September 11: Musharraf drops support for Taliban and allies Pakistan with Washington after 9/11 attacks.


April 30: Musharraf wins controversial national referendum on his rule.

October 10: Pro-Musharraf Pakistan Muslim League-Q wins general elections.

November 16: Musharraf sworn in for a fresh five-year term.


December: Musharraf escapes two assassination attempts, one by Islamist military officers and the other by Al-Qaeda.


January 1: Musharraf wins parliamentary vote of confidence affirming his unelected rule until 2007.

February: Musharraf pardons nuclear scientist Abdul Qadeer Khan for leaking nuclear secrets to Iran, North Korea and Libya.

December 30: Musharraf reneges on promise to quit as army chief.


March 9: Musharraf sacks chief justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, sparking protests. Chaudhry reinstated by Supreme Court in July.

July 10: Pakistani troops storm the radical Red Mosque in Islamabad, killing scores.

October 6: Parliament elects Musharraf to another five-year term as president in a vote boycotted by the opposition.

October 18: Benazir Bhutto returns from exile.

November 3: Musharraf imposes state of emergency, sacks chief justice, suspends constitution.

November 25: Sharif returns from exile.

November 28: Musharraf steps down as army chief and hands control of military to General Ashfaq Kayani

December 15: Musharraf lifts state of emergency.

December 27: Bhutto assassinated at election rally.


February 18: Parties of Bhutto and Sharif trounce Musharraf's allies in general elections.

March 24: Parliament elects Bhutto aide Yousuf Raza Gilani as prime minister.

August 7: Coalition says Musharraf to face impeachment.