Hindustan Times journalists win Ramnath Goenka award | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 18, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Hindustan Times journalists win Ramnath Goenka award

delhi Updated: Jul 24, 2013 01:23 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Tuesday evening saw the finest in Indian journalism being honoured for their commitment, courage and enterprise at the sixth Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards.

Twenty-nine print and broadcast journalists in 17 categories, selected by a 10-member jury, received the awards that were handed over by Chief Justice of India P Sathasivam at a function held in New Delhi on Tuesday.

Hindustan Times’ Delhi Metro team won the Prakash Kardaley Memorial Award for Civic Journalism instituted by the Ramnath Goenka Memorial Foundation. The team got the award for its coverage of the Commonwealth Games in 2010.


Delhi Metro team getting the award

In exclusive reports and special full-page series, HT focused not just on preparation delays but also how the lack of planning and the pressure to meet deadlines left a big question mark on what would otherwise be the Games’ lasting infrastructural legacy. Shalini Singh, principal correspondent with the features team of Hindustan Times, won the Ramnath Goenka award in the environment reporting category for her in-depth report on mining and the presence of tigers in Goa in 2010.

Shalini Singh's stories which fetched her the prestigious award are as follows :

These stories were among those researched as a fellow of Centre for Science Environment. Harinder Baweja won the award in the investigative reporting category for her special reports in Headlines Today. Baweja works with Hindustan Times at present.


Shalini Singh getting the award

Josy Joseph of The Times of India won the Ramnath Goenka Journalist of the Year award (print), while Ravish Kumar of NDTV India won the Journalist of the Year award (broadcast). Among the other winners in the print section were Mehboob Jeelani of The Caravan for reporting from Jammu and Kashmir and the North-east; Atul Chaurasia of Tehelka for excellence in Hindi Journalism; and Shivani Naik of Indian Express for excellence in sports journalism. Manu Pubby of Indian Express got the award for on-the-spot reporting.

Suanshu Khurana of Indian Express won the award for excellence in film and television journalism. Some of the winners from the broadcast section were Mufti Islah of CNN-IBN for excellence in reporting from J&K and the North-east; Umashankar Singh of NDTV India for excellence in Hindi Journalism; and Latha Venkatesh of CNBC TV18 for business and economic journalism. Veteran journalist Inder Malhotra received the lifetime achievement award.