The launch of India’s first Mars mission, Sriharikota, November 5, 2013(PTI)
The launch of India’s first Mars mission, Sriharikota, November 5, 2013(PTI)

It’s about time we say Jai Vigyan, writes Akshay Kumar

Indian cinema has rarely explored the genre, for the fear of it being too complicated for the masses
By Akshay Kumar
UPDATED ON AUG 21, 2019 08:08 PM IST

They say cinema ought to be a reflection of reality. But, then, they also question it — that too much realism takes them away from the escape that they come looking for in a theatre. It is this quandary that I experienced while making a full-fledged commercial film on a subject such as space research. But now that Mission Mangal has become the fastest 100-crore grosser of my 28-year-old career as an actor, I can share the dilemma and the trepidation, the resistance and the revelations.

“Science lends itself to documentaries, not mainstream cinema” is a sentence I heard a million times over the last two years — sometimes from others, sometimes from my inner self. Because from the moment the film’s director Jagan Shakti, a young man whose name itself sounds like the name of a missile, narrated the story of these brilliant Indian Space Research Organisation (Isro) scientists, and their successful Mars Mission, the only question in my rather unscientific mind was whether it was too risky to invest crores into telling this story. But, then, if someone like me, for whom science began and ended at mugging up formulas and equations in school, could see the magnitude of challenges that the story of our space scientists was screaming out, I could only shudder at what they must have gone through while facing those challenges in reality. Despite the government’s good intentions, the fact remains that space scientists — actually, scientists, in general — do not get the recognition they deserve. This neglect, hopefully inadvertent, adds to the humongous financial and resource crunch they often face.

But interacting with Isro scientists was quite an eye-opener, especially to learn that they didn’t really see themselves as the victims we sometimes perceive them to be. Here I was, harping about the “empowerment of women”, as displayed remarkably by the team of women scientists leading the Mars Mission, when one of them interjected: “Why would you prefix the gender? You don’t address men in our team as men scientists. Do you? We are simply scientists.” Just one among the many stereotypes in my head which shattered that day.

When it comes down to it, a film is merely the telling of a story using photographs — lakhs of them. It is just that the observer registers them at a great speed; imagine flicking 15 pages of an old family album in a second. The challenge is to make the mind pause and reflect, not the eyes. Growing up, with never enough money in the family to afford watching a film on a regular basis, I remember spending hours staring at a photograph; sometimes it was a photograph on a calendar hung on the wall. As a child, I never thought about it, but looking back, I realise that while my eyes stared at the still image, my mind was playing it as a film. The person in the image would move; he would do things. And if the image was of the goddess Durga, her tiger would charge or roar, her many arms would move.

More than the film, it is the humble photograph that brings the story alive. And now, when I think back a few years, I realise the exact moment when I decided to make a film on this subject. It was the moment when I stared at the photo of two Isro scientists — their backs toward the camera, casually transporting the rocket cone on a bicycle carrier. That was it. That was the moment. I realised it was never about the planets or space-race or technology or filming it — it was about a dream of a nation of one billion, captured in that one black and white photograph. That was the film for me right there. The photograph was the film. The bicycle moved, the shirts of the scientists fluttered, the rocket cone wobbled, and a billion dreams transported in to a fantasy land that we search for in our films, the land where we can forget the drudgery of our daily grind if only for a few hours.

A film is a very small entity. But it does bring a subject to dining table conversations, especially with children. When I was a child, my father encouraged me to experiment and discover -- at the cost of failure. In 1974, my dad gifted me a transistor, which he bought for 150, a huge amount for us at the time. I was mesmerised by the songs at first, but by the evening, I was too desperate to figure out where the sound was coming from. So, I dismantled the radio to find a black object, which stuck to the metal almirah. Having never seen a magnet, I was kicked to think that I had “discovered” something. When dad came home that evening, he asked me where the magnet had come from. And I told him it was my discovery. I am sure he felt the urge to bash me up on seeing the dismantled parts of the radio lying in a bucket, but he said it’s good that I tried to discover.

During this film, reading up on the loss of GSLV, and all other failures of the space mission, made me remember how the optimism about discovery would have been ingrained into the scientists as children. Today, it is heartening to see children of all ages find space research a field to pursue. My 16-year-old son, who found scientists “fuddy duddy”, now thinks that they are rock stars, and cool enough to hero-worship. A friend, who has never WhatsApped me anything other than forwarded jokes, texted me: “Bhai, Chandrayaan 2 has entered the lunar orbit.” I felt tremendously proud, but also amused that it took making a film for me to understand the significance of this achievement — of our nation and its unsung scientists.

While promoting the film, I came across an interesting fact. About 80% of science films are produced in Hollywood. Indian cinema has never really risked exploring it, for the simple fear of it being too complicated or alien for the masses. And it is not that I am not to be blamed. Without realising, we patronise our audience; we think for them, and not with them.

Following the success of Mission Mangal, I have heard the political class tell me how this film will re-energise our scientists, and more importantly, propel our politicians, into caring more for science. Truth be told, I had never thought this far. For me, this film was always about that still photograph of two scientists transporting the rocket cone on a bicycle. It was never about the rocket cone; it was always about those scientists. It is in this context that the words once spoken by Atal Bihari Vajpayee ring so true. For years we have been proudly raising Lal Bahadur Shastri’s slogan, Jai Jawan, Jai Kisan . There had to come a time when we changed that slogan to Jai Jawan, Jai Kisan, Jai Vigyan. The third vertex of this deeply interconnected triangle forms the fabric of our country, and deserves its time in the sun now.

Akshay Kumar is an actor

The views expressed are personal

SHARE THIS ARTICLE ON
Close
Elections in Kerala are punctuated by several controversies, both past and present (File Photo)
Elections in Kerala are punctuated by several controversies, both past and present (File Photo)

Espionage to smuggling, scandals spice up every poll in Kerala

By Ramesh Babu, Thiruvanathapuram
PUBLISHED ON MAR 03, 2021 07:26 PM IST
  • controversies and scandals were part of the state polity in the last three decades and mushrooming digital media also played its part in amplifying them, said a political observer.
Close
The 1962 baggage at the turn of century was such that for 40 years, subsequent governments did not dare build border roads on the ground that these could be used by the Chinese army to enter the hinterland in case of a conflict.(PTI)
The 1962 baggage at the turn of century was such that for 40 years, subsequent governments did not dare build border roads on the ground that these could be used by the Chinese army to enter the hinterland in case of a conflict.(PTI)

Why 2021 political rhetoric is no match for 1962 fighting in Ladakh

By Shishir Gupta, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
UPDATED ON MAR 03, 2021 02:15 PM IST
  • India and China came close to war last year after Indian army commanders atop Rezang La-Rechin La ridge threatened to fire at the advancing PLA tank regiment that sought to dislodge the Indian troopers.
Close
Approximately half of the countries use population for delimitation, while another third use registered voters. Nowhere is it based on area and for good reasons (HTPHOTO)
Approximately half of the countries use population for delimitation, while another third use registered voters. Nowhere is it based on area and for good reasons (HTPHOTO)

J&K delimitation: Go by the population rule

By Haseeb Drabu
PUBLISHED ON MAR 01, 2021 06:39 PM IST
Having already decided on the number of electors as well as the number of elected, the only part of delimitation that has been left to the Commission is the electoral cartography — the redrawing of boundaries and enclosing people within the constituency framework. Notwithstanding these debilitating infirmities in the context of J&K, the redrawing of the constituencies is an extraordinarily complex and highly contentious exercise. It can potentially alter the electoral demographic balance.
Close
Representational image. (AFP)
Representational image. (AFP)

Congress needs to worry more about rebels than opponents in Puducherry

By Abhishek Jha, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
UPDATED ON FEB 22, 2021 06:32 PM IST
The only time the Congress has lost Puducherry, it has been because of a rebel. The Congress and DMK together have won over 50% seats in every assembly elections in Puducherry since 1980, except in 2011
Close
At a January meeting to review projects, Prime Minister Narendra Modi expressed displeasure at the process-driven bureaucracy (ANI)
At a January meeting to review projects, Prime Minister Narendra Modi expressed displeasure at the process-driven bureaucracy (ANI)

Behind PM Modi’s stinging critique of the IAS, a Jan meeting holds the clue

By Shishir Gupta, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
UPDATED ON FEB 17, 2021 09:35 AM IST
  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi had given bureaucrats an earful at a January meeting of the country's top officials and underlined the price that India paid for their slow pace.
Close
PM Narendra Modi was emotional while giving a farewell to Ghulam Nabi Azad from Rajya Sabha.
PM Narendra Modi was emotional while giving a farewell to Ghulam Nabi Azad from Rajya Sabha.

Salute to Ghulam Nabi Azad underlined PM Modi’s personal ties with rivals

By Saubhadra Chatterji | Edited by Abhinav Sahay, New Delhi
UPDATED ON FEB 14, 2021 03:37 PM IST
  • Leaders from the Congress and other Opposition parties have many stories to show that the Prime Minister has maintained personal rapport with leaders cutting across political boundaries.
Close
Officials carry out search and rescue operation at Tapovan Tunnel, after a glacier broke off in Joshimath in Uttarakhand’s Chamoli district causing a massive flood in the Dhauli Ganga river on Sunday. (File photo)
Officials carry out search and rescue operation at Tapovan Tunnel, after a glacier broke off in Joshimath in Uttarakhand’s Chamoli district causing a massive flood in the Dhauli Ganga river on Sunday. (File photo)

Not just climate change, Chamoli disaster was human-induced

UPDATED ON FEB 08, 2021 12:15 PM IST
Stone quarrying, blasting of mountains and digging of tunnels in the base of the mountain system for two dams on Rishi Ganga and Dhauli Ganga rivers played havoc with the local ecology
Close
In this file photo, a man hangs on to pole holding a Sikh religious flag along with a farm union flag at the historic Red Fort monument during a farmers protest against new farm laws in New Delhi(AP)
In this file photo, a man hangs on to pole holding a Sikh religious flag along with a farm union flag at the historic Red Fort monument during a farmers protest against new farm laws in New Delhi(AP)

Perception is the truth in information warfare over farm laws

By Shishir Gupta, New Delhi, Hindustan Times
UPDATED ON FEB 04, 2021 01:42 PM IST
  • The Chinese were among the first to recognise the role of information warfare to weaken the adversary from within
Close
Union Minister of Finance Nirmala Sitharaman. (Ajay Aggarwal /HT PHOTO)
Union Minister of Finance Nirmala Sitharaman. (Ajay Aggarwal /HT PHOTO)

A new confidence about India reflects in a bold Budget 2021

By Monika Halan
UPDATED ON FEB 01, 2021 09:59 PM IST
Finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman has chosen to spend on generating future income using the higher capital spending, which has gone up by 35.4% over the previous year
Close
Shaibal Gupta also made a pioneering contribution in explaining the historical roots and the evolution of Bihar’s politics, which have today become the staple of everyday political analysis. (FACEBOOK)
Shaibal Gupta also made a pioneering contribution in explaining the historical roots and the evolution of Bihar’s politics, which have today become the staple of everyday political analysis. (FACEBOOK)

The life and times of a Patna intellectual

UPDATED ON JAN 31, 2021 06:20 AM IST
Shaibal Gupta was rooted and cosmopolitan; idealistic and pragmatic; and an insider and outsider — all at the same time. Patna’s public life will not the same without him.
Close
Foreign Minister S Jaishankar's address on India-China ties is a reminder to Beijing that the bilateral relationship between the two Asian powers is not a one-way street.(AP/File)
Foreign Minister S Jaishankar's address on India-China ties is a reminder to Beijing that the bilateral relationship between the two Asian powers is not a one-way street.(AP/File)

Jaishankar yellow-cards China for violating pacts, spells out the India way

By Shishir Gupta, New Delhi
UPDATED ON JAN 29, 2021 03:02 PM IST
  • S Jaishankar’s speech on India-China ties signals India’s determination to continue to stand up to Xi Jinping’s expansionist plans for Asia as an equal and makes it clear that nothing that Beijing does against India will be overlooked, or allowed to go unpunished.
Close
Jack Ma, founder and executive chairman of China's Alibaba Group, in Chiba, Japan, June 18, 2015 (REUTERS)
Jack Ma, founder and executive chairman of China's Alibaba Group, in Chiba, Japan, June 18, 2015 (REUTERS)

Jack Ma story: China’s deep strategic ambition

By Manoj Kewalramani
UPDATED ON JAN 29, 2021 04:50 AM IST
This statist vision of the future is very different from the government creating a level-playing field for private capital to compete and the market to do its job. It is about the State guiding capital and private entities towards what it believes are national strategic priorities, rather than allowing them to simply focus on generating greater revenue.
Close
A Nihang Sikh aboard a horse inside Red Fort on Tuesday.(Sanjeev Verma/HT PHOTO)
A Nihang Sikh aboard a horse inside Red Fort on Tuesday.(Sanjeev Verma/HT PHOTO)

Republic Day raid was pre-meditated, planned well in advance

UPDATED ON JAN 28, 2021 02:17 PM IST
With Delhi Police under firm orders not to open fire, the armed Nihang Sikhs provided the cover for the tractors to roll towards Red Fort.
Close
A video of an unruly tractor moving waywardly towards police personnel at ITO emerged on Tuesday as farmers protesting against farm laws deviated from their route and moved inside the Capital.
A video of an unruly tractor moving waywardly towards police personnel at ITO emerged on Tuesday as farmers protesting against farm laws deviated from their route and moved inside the Capital.

How unruly farmers tried to embarrass India on Republic Day

UPDATED ON JAN 27, 2021 02:09 PM IST
The tractor-borne unruly farmers were minutes away from India Gate when they were blocked by New Delhi Range police.
Close
How do we address this cyclical pattern of hailing and rubbishing financiers? It is time for an honest review of the entire issue (Getty Images/iStockphoto)
How do we address this cyclical pattern of hailing and rubbishing financiers? It is time for an honest review of the entire issue (Getty Images/iStockphoto)

The policy landscape around digital and physical micro-lending

By Amol Agrawal
UPDATED ON JAN 25, 2021 06:08 AM IST
In 1870s, a similar backlash emerged in Poona and Ahmednagar districts of the Bombay presidency. The agriculture boom in the early 1860s led farmers to take loans from moneylenders
Close
SHARE
Story Saved
OPEN APP