Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 10, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ashes 2019 venues retained for 2023 series

The next two Ashes series in England will be played across the same five venues -- Edgbaston, Headingley, the Oval, Lord’s and Old Trafford.

cricket Updated: Feb 15, 2018 14:19 IST
By Russell Greaves
By Russell Greaves
The Ashes,Ashes 2019,Ashes 2023
Australia regained the Ashes with a 4-0 series win over England in January. (AFP )

The venues for the 2023 Ashes series will be the same as for next year’s England-Australia showdown.

Edgbaston, Headingley, the Oval, Lord’s and Old Trafford all get the honour of hosting rights for both series, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has confirmed.

(Read | Steve Smith, Australia cricket captain, relishing break after suffering from mental fatigue)

Notable by its absence is Hampshire’s Ageas Bowl, which was thought to have a strong chance to stage a Test, while Trent Bridge also remains off the Ashes schedule.

(Read | Stuart Broad, England pacer, tweaks bowling action ahead of New Zealand Tests)

England fell to a 4-0 Ashes loss in Australia, but had won five of the previous seven series and have not been beaten on home soil since 2001.

Further details of a new domestic Twenty20 competition were also announced by the ECB on Wednesday, with London, Manchester, Leeds, Birmingham, Nottingham, Cardiff and Southampton to host matches.

First Published: Feb 15, 2018 14:19 IST