Hindustantimes wants to start sending you push notifications. Click allow to subscribe

Asia Cup 2023


After a lot of uncertainty, the Asia Cup is finally here. Marred by controversy surrounding its venue, schedule, the ACC, the coldness between BCCI and PCB and what not, the tournament was as good as gone until a few months back. But fortunately, after a long deadlock, the acceptance of the Hybrid Model paved the way for its grand return.

The Asia Cup 2023 is set to showcase the return of Asia's cricketing giants as they vie for supremacy and gear up for the highly anticipated World Cup in India. Six teams in India, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Nepal, and defending champions Sri Lanka, will fiercely compete for a spot in the final. The tournament will consist of a total of 13 matches – four in Pakistan and nine in Sri Lanka – featuring a straightforward format. Four out of the six teams will advance to the Super 4s, and the top two will face off in an epic clash to determine the ultimate champion.

This edition of the Asia Cup is poised to be an action-packed spectacle. Making a comeback in its full 50-overs format, the tournament has historically served as a platform for Asia's cricketing powerhouses to fine-tune themselves ahead of the World Cup. After a five-year hiatus, ODIs are once again the format of choice. The previous 50-over Asia Cup took place in 2018, with India emerging victorious by defeating Bangladesh in an enthralling final.

This tournament marks the 12th edition of the Asia Cup, a competition that has witnessed awe-inspiring performances from both individuals and teams since its inception in 1984. Notably, India holds the title of the most successful team, having clinched the championship a record seven times. Sri Lanka secured their sixth title in the UAE last year, further solidifying their stature as a force to be reckoned with in the tournament's history.

The path to the Super 4s and the final will be determined by the accumulation of points throughout the tournament. The six teams will be divided into two groups of three. Group A comprises India, Pakistan, and Nepal, while Group B features Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan. Each victory will earn a team 2 points, while a defeat will result in zero points. In the event of a tie, the points will be split equally with 1 point each. Additionally, the net run-rate will serve as a tiebreaker when teams find themselves with an equal number of points, adding an extra layer of suspense to the competition.

Winner History

Year Winner Runner-Up Player of the Series Venue
2022 Sri Lanka170/6 Pakistan140/10 Bhanuka Rajapaksa (Sri Lanka) Dubai
2018 India223/7 Bangladesh222/10 Shikhar Dhawan (India) Dubai
2016 India122/2 Bangladesh120/10 Sabbir Rahman (Bangladesh) Dhaka
2014 Sri Lanka261/5 Pakistan260/10 Lahiru Thirimanne (Sri Lanka) Dhaka
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now