Chanderpaul hits ton as hosts beat Ireland

Updated on Mar 24, 2007 04:19 AM IST
Shivnarine Chanderpaul struck an impressive unbeaten century as West Indies beat Ireland by eight wickets.
HT Image
HT Image
Reuters | By, Kingston, Jamaica

Shivnarine Chanderpaul struck an impressive unbeaten century as World Cup hosts West Indies beat surprise package Ireland by eight wickets in the final Group D match at Sabina Park on Friday.

Ireland made 183 for eight in 48 overs after rain stopped play and under the Duckworth-Lewis rules West Indies were set a target of 190 which they knocked off comfortably with 9.5 overs to spare.

With both teams having already secured their places in the Super Eights stage, the win allows Brian Lara's men to carry two points with them into the next phase.

Chanderpaul's sixth one day century, his first in a World Cup, included 10 fours and four sixes.

Ireland made 183-8 off 48 overs in a rain-affected World Cup Group D match against the West Indies at Sabina Park on Friday.

Earlier, Ireland captain Kyle McCallan won the toss and chose to bat first against the West Indies in the last World Cup Group D match at Sabina Park.

McCallan was leading the team in the absence of regular skipper Trent Johnston, who was sidelined because of a shoulder injury sustained in Ireland's shock win over Pakistan.

John Mooney, a right-arm pacer, replaces Johnston in the Ireland line-up.

The West Indies also made one change to the XI that registered wins against Pakistan and Zimbabwe.

Left-arm seamer Ian Bradshaw replaces fellow Barbadian Corey Collymore.


West Indies: Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Marlon Samuels, Brian Lara (captain), Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Denesh Ramdin, Ian Bradshaw, Jerome Taylor, Daren Powell.

Ireland: Jeremy Bray, William Porterfield, Eoin Morgan, Niall O'Brien, Andre Botha, Kevin O'Brien, Kyle McCallan (captain), Andrew White, John Mooney, Dave Langford-Smith, Boyd Rankin.

Umpires: Ian Gould (England), Billy Bowden (New Zealand).

TV umpire: Brian Jerling (South Africa).

Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (Sri Lanka).

Close Story
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Monday, August 08, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now