Today in New Delhi, India
Sep 22, 2018-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Khsitij Sharma dropped from Delhi’s Vijay Hazare Trophy squad, Manjot Kalra on stand by

While Khsitij Sharma was dropped from Delhi’s Vijay Hazare Trophy squad, Majot Kalra was put on stand by.

cricket Updated: Feb 18, 2018 21:15 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, New Delhi
Khsitij Sharma,Vijay Hazare Trophy,Manjot Kalra
Manjot Kalra starred for India at the recently held ICC U-19 cricket World Cup held in New Zealand.(PTI)

The DDCA senior selection committee finally dropped controversial pick Khsitij Sharma from the 15--member Delhi squad for the knock out stage of Vijay Hazare Trophy.

However, U-19 World Cup hero Manjot Kalra has been kept on stand by with young left-arm spinner Harsh Tyagi taking Khsitij’s place.

READ | Remove T20 cricket from international schedule - Trevor Bayliss

Khsitij, who had been included in the squad during Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament, has attracted a lot of negative attention as he was included bypassing proven performers. There were strong allegations that he was included at the behest of a senior DDCA official, who wanted him to get an IPL contract.

Interestingly, Delhi played him one T20 game in which he failed and he landed a Rs 20 lakh contract with Chennai Super Kings. The selectors then included him in the one day squad with the logic that he now has an IPL contract. Once he flopped in the Hazare Trophy, the selection committee led by Atul Wassan had no option but to exclude him from the final squad.

READ | R Ashwin is a role model for today’s youngsters: Syed Kirmani

Squad: Ishant Sharma (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Unmukt Chand, Rishabh Pant, Nitish Rana, Hiten Dalal, Dhruv Shorey, Lalit Yadav, Kulwant Khejroliya, Pradeep Sangwan, Navdeep Saini, Pawan Negi, Harsh Tyagi, Himmat Singh, Milind Kumar. Stand by: Manjot Kalra.

First Published: Feb 18, 2018 21:15 IST