New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Aug 17, 2019-Saturday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Saturday, Aug 17, 2019

Ranji Trophy: R Vinay Kumar hat-trick hands Karnataka charge vs Mumbai

R Vinay Kumar’s six wickets put Karnataka in control of their Ranji Trophy quarter-final match against Mumbai

cricket Updated: Dec 07, 2017 20:17 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, Nagpur
R Vinay Kumar’s six wickets helped Karnataka take control of the Ranji Trophy quarter-final match against Mumbai.
R Vinay Kumar’s six wickets helped Karnataka take control of the Ranji Trophy quarter-final match against Mumbai.(HT file photo)

Skipper R Vinay Kumar led from the front with some devastating bowling and picked up a six-wicket haul including a hat-trick to help Karnataka bundle out Mumbai for 173 in the Ranji Trophy quarter-final that began here today.

Kumar, who made most of the conditions which aided pace bowling after inserting Mumbai in on winning the toss, returned with impressive figures of 6 for 34, including the hat-trick completed in two overs, as 41-time champions Mumbai crumbled in only 56 overs on day one of the five-day match at the VCA Stadium in Jamtha.

To continue their domination, Karnataka replied with 115 for 1 by stumps, as they placed themselves 58 runs adrift of Mumbai with their in-form opener Mayank Agarwal unbeaten on 62 in 83 balls with M Abbas (12 not out) for company.

Karnataka, who topped Group A, are all set to take the first innings lead.

Kumar also became the third bowler to complete a hat-trick against Mumbai, the other two being B Kalyanasundaram for Tamil Nadu in the 1972-73 Ranji final and Raghuram Bhat for Karnataka in the 1981-82 season.

READ | Mumbai lndians appoint James Pamment as new fielding coach ahead of IPL 2018

He became the sixth bowler to take a hat-trick in the knock-out stage of the national championship, the last one to achieve the distinction being S Sen Sharma for Bengal against Delhi in the pre-quarter final of the 1993-94 season.

Kumar wreaked havoc on the Mumbai batting line-up as he removed young and in-form opener Prithvi Shaw (2), edging to first slip Karun Nair, with the last ball of his first over with the score on 6.

Then with the first ball of his next over, he dismissed the other opener Jay Bista (1) in a similar fashion, and then completed his hat-trick by trapping Akash Parkar (0) in front of the wicket to reduce Mumbai to 7 for 3.

Kumar later scalped Siddhesh Lad, Akhil Herwadkar and Karsh Kothari to complete his devastating spell.

Vinay Kumar now has two Ranji hat-tricks. His first was against Maharashtra at Ratnagiri in 2007-08. He is only the fourth bowler to take multiple hat-tricks in Ranji history and second for Karnataka after Anil Kumble. Others to have more than one hat-trick are: Joginder Rao (three for Services) and Pritam Gandhe (two for Vidarbha).

Vinay Kumar’s hat-trick is overall the tenth for Karnataka in Ranji, the most by any team. The next highest is six hat-tricks for Bengal and then five each for Delhi, Haryana and Tamil Nadu.

READ | Fans delighted as MS Dhoni looks set to return to Chennai Super Kings in IPL

With his first wicket of the day, Vinay Kumar went past Erapalli Prasanna’s 370 wickets to become Karnataka’s third-highest wicket-taker in Ranji Trophy. Now only Sunil Joshi (479) and Bhagawat Chandrasekhar (437) are ahead of Vinay Kumar. He is already the leading wicket-taker among fast bowlers in Ranji Trophy history.

Mumbai were struggling at 74 for 7 before medium pacer Dhawal Kulkarni, who came in to bat at number nine, counter-attacked with a knock of 75 in 132 balls, to take his team beyond the 150-run mark.

Kulkarni struck nine fours and two sixes. The only other notable contribution came from seasoned Herwadkar (32 off 75 balls).

Siddesh Lad, Mumbai’s crisis man this season, also was out cheaply for 8 while skipper Aditya Tare’s poor run with the bat continued as he fell for 4.

Kumar was well supported by Sreenath Arvind (2-45) and Abhimanyu Mithun (1-31).

Scores: Mumbai 173 all out (Dhawal Kulkarni 75, Akhil Herwadkar 32; R Vinay Kumar 6-34) v Karnataka 115 for 1 (Mayank Agarwal 62 not out, M Abbas 12 not out).

(With inputs from S Pervez Qaiser)

First Published: Dec 07, 2017 19:48 IST

more from cricket