New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Aug 26, 2019-Monday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Monday, Aug 26, 2019

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018: Delhi, Karnataka register big wins

Nitish Rana and Unmukt Chand scored fifties as Delhi defeated Tripura by seven wickets while Karnataka thrashed Baroda by the VJD method

cricket Updated: Feb 07, 2018 22:32 IST
HT Correspondent/Agencies
HT Correspondent/Agencies
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Unmukt Chand continued his great form as Delhi secured an easy win over Tripura in the 2018 Vijay Hazare trophy.
Unmukt Chand continued his great form as Delhi secured an easy win over Tripura in the 2018 Vijay Hazare trophy.(Getty Images)

Delhi produced a solid top-order batting performance to beat Tripura by seven wickets and register their second win in Group B of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Sent into bat, Tripura rode on half-centuries from opener Bishal Ghosh (84), Yashpal Singh (61) and Gurinder Singh (54 not out) to post a challenging 298 for seven in 50 overs.

But the total wasn’t enough as Tripura bowlers fizzled in front of Delhi’s top-order with Nitish Rana top-scoring with a 60-ball unbeaten 94 while chasing down the target in 39.1 overs.

Besides Rana, Unmukt Chand carried on his good form with a 65-ball 55 and together with Hiten Dalal (76) shared 93 runs for the opening stand to set the platform for the chase.

Wicket-keeper Risabh Pant too played a fiery knock of 56 that came off just 18 balls.

Despite an all-win record, Delhi are now second in Group B behind Maharashtra, who too have a 100 per cent record but are ahead on net run rate.

Maharashtra defeated Uttar Pradesh comfortably by 105 runs in another Group B match in Bilaspur.

Sent into bat, Maharashtra posted a massive 343 for five riding on Ankit Bawane’s unbeaten 117 and then bowled out Uttar Pradesh for 238 in 44.3 overs.

Kerala vs Bengal ends in tie

Captain Manoj Tiwary’s unbeaten half century went in vain as Bengal had to settle for a tie against Kerala in a thrilling Group B fixture of the Vijay

Hazare Trophy One-Day cricket tournament.

Last year’s runner-up Bengal made a mockery of a modest 236 run chase as Kerala’s tidy bowling was backed up well by sharp fielding.

Bengal kept losing wickets at regular intervals to remain winless from two matches to slip to fifth spot in the seven-team group.

Karnataka thrash Baroda

Mayank Agarwal continued his good form, hammering a 90-ball 109 to star in Karnataka’s 85-run (via VJD method) against Baroda.

Agarwal was in superb touch and played shots all round the wicket to keep the scoreboard ticking.

Though Test discard Karun Nair failed to get going, Agarwal found an able partner in R Samarth (77) and the duo added 95 runs to set the platform for Karnataka.

After the exit of Agarwal for 109, Samarth added 74 runs with Pavan Deshpande. The stylish right-hander hit 14 fours and two sixers in his knock.

A middle order wobble saw Karnataka lose a few quick wickets, but skipper R Vinay Kumar blasted a quickfire 34 towards the end to help the team finish at 312 for 9.

In reply, Baroda lost wickets at regular intervals to fall behind the run rate.

Only opener Kedar Devdhar (48) and all-rounder Krunal Pandya (39) showed the intent, but good bowling by K Gowtham (4/42) and Shreyas Gopal (3/30) pegged them back.

All-rounder Yusuf Pathan, who is returning to the game after serving a doping ban,made only two runs off seven balls.

First Published: Feb 07, 2018 22:32 IST

more from cricket