WTC final: How India, New Zealand made it to the final and how were points calculated - EXPLAINED

Updated on May 31, 2021 04:23 PM IST

India vs New Zealand, WTC final: Virat Kohli's Indian team will take on Kane Williamson's New Zealand in the summit clash. But how did they reach the final? Explained:

India captain Virat Kohli hugs New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson. File(Twitter)
India captain Virat Kohli hugs New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson. File(Twitter)

The stage is set for an epic grand finale to the first-ever World Test Championship tournament kicked off by the ICC two years ago. On one corner, there will be Virat Kohli's strong and energetic Indian cricket team. On the other, there will be Kane Williamson's cool and dynamic New Zealand team. The contest will be played in Southampton, England, starting from June 18th -- and the winner will take home the first-ever WTC trophy.

At this point, the contest appears to be quite balanced. While India picked up series wins over Australia and England not so long ago, they will be entering the contest without having played any cricket in over a month. Also, the Indian team were beaten convincingly by the Kiwis the last time they played the two-match Test cricket in 2020.

Also read: 'Won't stop us from completing this edition of IPL': BCCI vice-president on overseas players not being available

India had secured the top spot after beating England 3-1 in the four-match affair. New Zealand, however, were the first to enter the final when Australia cancelled their tour to South Africa earlier this year due to Covid-19 concerns.

Here is a quick explainer on how the two teams made it to the final:

  • All nine top Test-playing nations were supposed to play six series – three home and three away - each but due to the pandemic only India, Sri Lanka and England were able to play six series.
  • It prompted the ICC to change the rules from the number of points to a percentage system to determine the final standings.

WTC points table:

New Zealand70.04205
West Indies33.32005
South Africa301444
Sri Lanka27.82006

Here is how the WTC points were calculated

Matches in seriesPoints for a winPoints for a tiePoints for a drawPoints for a loss

  • As per that, Virat Kohli’s India ended on top with 520 points and a percentage of 72.2 after six series. At second is New Zealand, who were at 420 points and a percentage of 70 after playing five series.
  • Australia narrowly missed the chance to qualify and finished with a percentage of 69.2 after playing 4 series.

Meanwhile, the ICC last week announced that India and New Zealand will be crowned joint winners of the WTC in case the match ends in a draw or a tie. A reserve day will only be considered in case of loss of overs due to bad weather conditions.

The reserve day would only be used if lost playing time could not be made up each day.

"There will be no additional day's play if a positive result is not achieved after five full days of play and the match will be declared a draw in such a scenario," the ICC said.

Get Latest Cricket Newsalong with Cricket Schedule. Also get updates on Indian Cricket Teamand Cricket Live Scoreof ongoing matches.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, September 30, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals