Hindustantimes wants to start sending you push notifications. Click allow to subscribe

West Bengal Assembly Election 2021


Khela sesh: TMC snatches 2 assembly seats from BJP, retains 2 in Bengal bypolls

Published on Nov 02, 2021 01:33 PM IST
Trinamool Congress general secretary and West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee's nephew Abhishek Banerjee campaigns in support of party candidate Udayan Guha for the Dinhata assembly bypolls at Dinhata in Cooch Behar district. 

West Bengal bypolls: Trinamool on path of victory in all 4 constituencies 

The Trinamool Congress also retained the Bhabanipur, Samserganj and Jangipur assembly seats, where bypolls were held late September, by a huge margin. 
Updated on Nov 02, 2021 01:06 PM IST

Congress unlikely to field candidate against Didi for Bhowanipur bypoll

State Congress president Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, considered as one of the staunchest critics of Banerjee, said on Thursday that he feels the Congress should not field a candidate against her out of political courtesy.
Published on Jun 05, 2021 03:26 AM IST

Extended election campaign pushed Covid-19 cases jump in rural Bengal

Union Home Minister Amit Shah waves his hand to the supporters during a roadshow, in Krishnanagar Uttar on Friday. (ANI Photo)
Updated on May 16, 2021 07:40 PM IST

Bengal facing twin challenges of Covid-19, post-poll violence: Guv Dhankhar

West Bengal governor Jagdeep Dhankhar. (HT file)
Published on May 13, 2021 04:13 PM IST

In Bengal’s post-poll political violence, a battle of narratives

A person injured in the clashes during the fourth phase of West Bengal assembly elections, in Cooch Behar, being taken away on April 10. (File photo)
Updated on May 14, 2021 10:54 AM IST

West Bengal: Elections to Samsherganj, Jangipur assembly seats today

Elections to two constituencies of West Bengal -- Samsherganj and Jangipur -- will take place on Thursday under tight security.
Updated on May 13, 2021 06:24 AM IST

West Bengal: Guv Dhankhar to visit post-poll violence affected areas on May 13

West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankar (ANI Photo)
Published on May 11, 2021 09:05 PM IST

Mamata Banerjee inducts 43 ministers: Check full list of portfolios

West Bengal governor Jagdeep Dhankar along with CM Mamata Banerjee pose for photographs with newly sworn-in ministers during a ceremony at Raj Bhavan, in Kolkata on May 10, 2021.
Published on May 10, 2021 06:59 PM IST

In Bengal, the story of BJP, TMC and the Dalit and tribal vote

TMC supporters celebrate their party's lead in the West Bengal state legislative assembly elections on May 2. (File photo)
Updated on May 11, 2021 08:48 AM IST

Four-member team from Centre in Bengal to investigate post-poll violence

MHA officials at North 24 Parganas, West Bengal.
Published on May 07, 2021 05:12 PM IST

‘Need to accept people’s mandate and stop spreading Covid’: Mamata tells BJP

TMC supremo and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee with party leader Biman Bandopadhyay during the swearing-in ceremony of the newly elected MLAs in the State Legislative Assembly, Kolkata.
Published on May 06, 2021 08:11 PM IST

'If ministers can be attacked then people are not safe in Bengal': Javadekar

Union Minister and BJP leader V Muraleedharan's convoy being allegedly attacked by miscreants.
Published on May 06, 2021 07:23 PM IST

BJP shares photo of scribe, claims him to be party cadre killed in clashes

This scribe's photo was used by the BJP IT cell to claim that a BJP party worker has been killed.
Published on May 06, 2021 05:35 PM IST

Ex-governor Tathagata Roy slams top BJP leaders for Bengal poll debacle

Tathagata Roy. (HT archive)
Updated on May 06, 2021 04:29 PM IST

Bengal police deny rape allegation as post-poll violence continues

The TMC has rejected the BJP’s allegations, with Mamata Banerjee saying: “I have noticed that violence and clashes are taking place in those areas where the BJP have won the elections. These places can be seen as black spots.”. (PTI Photo/Swapan Mahapatra)
Updated on May 06, 2021 04:41 AM IST

Mamata asked officials to not send me reports on post-poll violence: Governor

"As the constitutional head, as per my oath under Article 159 of the Constitution, I am called upon to protect, preserve and defend the Constitution, as also serve the people of state." said Jagdeep Dhankhar (PTI Photo)
Updated on May 06, 2021 04:28 AM IST

Mamata Banerjee takes oath as CM, says won’t tolerate violence

Mamata Banerjee was sworn-in by governor Jagdeep Dhankhar at 10.45am. (Photo by Samir Jana/Hindustan Times)
Updated on May 06, 2021 12:30 AM IST

Mamata starts 3rd term as Bengal CM with blood on her hands, Nadda says

BJP national president JP Nadda meets family members of Sobharani Mondal, who lost her in post-election violence in North 24 Paraganas, in Kolkata
Published on May 05, 2021 11:11 PM IST

Homemaker, economist: Candidates from all walks of life in Bengal assembly

Mamata Banerjee. (File photo)
Published on May 05, 2021 03:31 PM IST

BJP workers crossed over due to violence in Bengal, says Assam minister

Assam BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma. (File photo)
Published on May 05, 2021 12:47 PM IST

TMC regains ground; tribal and Dalit voters in some districts stay loyal to BJP

Representational Image. (File photo)
Updated on May 04, 2021 05:50 PM IST

‘Heard of such incidents during partition’: Nadda on Bengal post-poll violence

BJP chief JP Nadda at Kolkata airport (ANI)
Updated on May 04, 2021 05:22 PM IST

PM Modi calls Bengal Governor, BJP goes to SC on post-poll clashes

PM Narendra Modi. (File photo)
Updated on May 05, 2021 04:24 AM IST

First duty of elected government is to protect lives: Owaisi on Bengal clashes

We condemn the failure of any government in any part of India to protect lives, AIMIM president and Lok Sabha MP Asaduddin Owaisi said.
Published on May 04, 2021 04:19 PM IST

Bengal clashes: Former BJP MP sends SOS to Amit Shah ahead of Nadda’s visit

Union Home minister Amit Shah. (File photo)
Updated on May 04, 2021 10:43 AM IST

MHA seeks report on post-poll violence in Bengal

BJP office vandalised by unidentified people, in Ghoshpara road of Bhatpara in West Bengal on Monday, May 3. (ANI)
Published on May 04, 2021 09:04 AM IST

3 crucial takeaways from Bengal results

The TMC’s emphatic victory does not mean that there was no communal polarisation in these elections. REUTERS/Rupak De Chowdhuri
Updated on May 04, 2021 07:26 AM IST

Poll official threatened in Nandigram, says Mamata Banerjee

TMC won 213 seats and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 77 in the state polls. (Photo by Samir Jana/Hindustan Times)
Updated on May 04, 2021 05:43 AM IST

Mamata Banerjee to invite Opposition leaders for post-Covid victory rally

Some TMC leaders said Mamata doesn’t have the “political baggage” of the Congress even as her roots had been in the party. (Photo by Samir Jana/Hindustan Times)
Updated on May 04, 2021 05:52 AM IST
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now