Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 17, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Himachal election results: Out of 19 women contestants, only four make it to House

india Updated: Dec 19, 2017 00:47 IST
Naresh K Thakur
Naresh K Thakur
Hindustan Times, Dharamshala
Himachal election results,Himachal Pradesh elections,Women candidates in Himachal

BJP workers celebrate at BJP headquarters in New Delhi on December 18.(Sonu Mehta/HT PHOTO)

Of the 19 women candidates who contested the Himachal assembly elections, only four could make it to the Vidhan Sabha. They comprise three candidates of the BJP and one from the Congress. This tally is one up from the 2012 elections when only three women won.

The BJP fielded six women candidates while Congress only three. The rest contested either independently or as representatives of regional parties. All India Congress Committee (AICC) secretary Asha Kumari, who belongs to erstwhile royal family of Chamba, won from Dalhousie by a thin margin of 556 votes.

Former BJP minister and Shahpur legislator Sarveen Chaudhary registered her third consecutive victory in a triangular contest. Chaudhary defeated Vijai Singh Mankotia, a former minister who contested as an independent by 6,147 votes.

Rita Dhiman, the BJP candidate from Indora, defeated Kamal Kishor of the Congress by 1,073 votes. Another BJP candidate, Kamlesh Kumari, who was in the fray from Bhoranj segment, defeated Suresh Kumar of the Congress by more than 6,000 votes.

First Published: Dec 19, 2017 00:47 IST