Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 27, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Karnataka cabinet expansion: Full list of ministers sworn in today

H D Kumaraswamy ministry in Karnataka expanded to induct 25 ministers.

india Updated: Jun 06, 2018 17:34 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Bengaluru
HD Kumaraswamy,Karnataka ministry expansion,Janata Dal Secular
Karnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy and his deputy G Parameshwara before a meeting on loan waiver for farmers in Bengaluru on May 30, 2018. (PTI)

The 15-day-old H D Kumaraswamy ministry in Karnataka was expanded on Wednesday with the induction of 25 ministers.

Fourteen ministers are from the Congress, nine from its ruling coalition partner Janata Dal (Secular) or JD (S) and one each from the Bahujan Samaj Party and the KPJP. Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new ministers at a ceremony at Raj Bhavan.

H D Revanna, son of former prime minister and JD (S) supremo H D Deve Gowda, and state senior Congress leaders D K Shivakumar were among those who took the oath.

JD (S) leader G T Deve Gowda, who had emerged as a giant killer defeating former chief minister Siddaramaiah in Chamundeshwari constituency in Mysuru in the assembly polls was also inducted. Congress MLC Jayamala was the lone woman minister.

Under the power sharing arrangement, Congress will have 22 ministers and the JDS 12. With today’s expansion, the strength of the ministry has gone up to 27, leaving seven more vacancies to be filled.

Kumaraswamy had taken oath as chief minister and Karnataka Congress chief G Parameshwara as deputy chief minister on May 23.

(with inputs from PTI)

new ministers of karnataka government
S. No.NameParty
1 D K Shivakumar Congress
2 R V Deshpande Congress
3 K J George Congress
4 Krishna Byre Gowda Congress
5 Rajashekar Patil Congress
6 Shivanand Patil Congress
7 Priyanka Kharge Congress
8 U T Khadar Congress
9 Zamir Ahmed Khan Congress
10 Puttaranga Shetty Congress
11 Shivashankara Reddy Congress
12 Jayamala Congress
13 Ramesh Jarkiholi Congress
14 Venkataramanappa Congress
15 H D Revanna JD (S)
16 G T Devegowda JD (S)
17 Bandappa Kashampur JD (S)
18 C S Puttaraju JD (S)
19 Venkatrao Nadagowda JD (S)
20 SA RA Mahesh JD (S)
21 DC Thammanna JD (S)
22 MC Managuli JD (S)
23 SR Srinivas JD (S)
24 R Shankar KPJP
25 Mahesh BSP

First Published: Jun 06, 2018 13:06 IST