New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 22, 2019-Tuesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Oct 22, 2019

13 Congress MLAs come under fire

All the members of the saffron party staged a walkout from Uttaranchal Assembly in this regard.

india Updated: Mar 23, 2006 16:55 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India

A BJP legislator on Thursday sought disqualification of 13 ruling Congress MLAs claiming that they were holding offices of profit.

All the members of the saffron party staged a walkout from Uttaranchal Assembly in this regard.

Raising the issue during Zero Hour, BJP leader Prakash Pant asked Speaker Yashpal Arya to bar entry of these MLAs inside the Vidhan Sabha and forward his plea to Governor Sudershan Agarwal for necessary action.

As Pant sought the disqualification, the Speaker said the house was not competent to disqualify these members and that only the Governor was a competent authority in this regard.

At this juncture, Pant asked the Speaker to forward his plea to the Governor for necessary action against the ruling MLAs.

The 13 Congress MLAs, who are holding the offices of profit, include Vijay Pal Singh Sajwan, Dinesh Agarwal, Phool Singh Bist, Kunwar Pranav Singh, Ganesh Godiyal, Anusuiya Prasad Maikhuri, Ramprasad Tamta, Pratap Singh Bist, Pradip Tamta, Shailendra Mohan Singhal, Gopal Singh Rana, Narayan Ram Arya and Jot Singh Gunsola, pant said.

Claiming that all these MLAs appointed directly by the state Government in the offices of profit in violation of article 191 (1) of the Constitution, Pant said, "Till the fate of these MLAs is decided by the Governor, they should not be allowed to take part in the Assembly proceedings".

Later, dissatisfied with the Speaker's reply that the house was not competent to take a decision over the issue, all the BJP members staged a walkout.

Meanwhile, UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi resigned on this issue on Thursday.

First Published: Mar 23, 2006 16:55 IST

top news