Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 15, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Border treaty with India, Bhutan pending: China

China has signed border agreements with 11 of its 13 neighbours barring India and Bhutan.

india Updated: Dec 29, 2006 14:33 IST

China has signed border agreements with 11 of its 13 neighbours barring India and Bhutan, with whom negotiations are on to settle the boundary issue in a "fair" and "equitable" manner, the government saidin Beijingin a defence policy paper.

China has signed land border treaties or agreements with Myanmar and 11 other neighbouring countries, thus resolving boundary issues left from history with these countries, a White Paper on 'China's National Defence in 2006' issued by the State Council, China's cabinet said.

The defence policy paper, fifth since 1998, to make Chinese military affairs more transparent, noted that China is currently negotiating with India and Bhutan to settle boundary issues.

It says that China pursues a good-neighbourliness policy, and works to enhance friendship and partnership with its neighbours. It calls for settling boundary and maritime demarcation issues with countries concerned in a fair and equitable manner, and through consultations on the basis of equality.

Though the White Paper did not indicate any progress in the ongoing India-China boundary talks, the two countries, during Chinese President Hu Jintao's visit to India in November, had agreed to complete the process of exchanging maps indicating their respective perceptions of the entire alignment of the LAC on the basis of already agreed parameters.

India and China have also signed an Agreement on Political Parameters and Guiding Principles for the Settlement of India-China Boundary Question on April 11, 2005 during Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao's visit to India.

First Published: Dec 29, 2006 14:33 IST