Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 17, 2018-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Victory at last for the West Indies

West India played a spectacular innings on Sunday, earning them their first win in the fourth ODI of the five match series, by seven wickets.

india Updated: Feb 01, 2004 23:59 IST

Jacques Kallis continued his hot batting streak but it was not enough to stop a rampant West Indian side run off a spectacular victory by seven wickets at Centurion Park on Sunday.

Kallis made an unbeaten 95 in a South African total of 297 for four, but he was outshone by a sparkling collective West Indian batting performance as the tourists won with five overs to spare to keep alive their hopes of sharing the series.

South Africa lead 2-1 with one match to play.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul was the star for the tourists, hitting 92 off just 75 balls, with ten fours and two sixes, but Chris Gayle, Ricardo Powell and Ramnaresh Sarwan all made important contributions before skipper Brian Lara sealed the victory with a thrilling unbeaten 59 off 37 balls.

"We were very positive from the start," said Lara of the run chase.

"Things haven't gone well for us on this tour, so to finally get a victory is great."

Lara said his team were looking forward to the final match of the series in Johannesburg on Wednesday, while South African captain Graeme Smith said his team needed to re-group.

"We weren't precise enough with the ball," he admitted.

The West Indies attacked from the start of the highest successful run chase in their one-day history, with Gayle slamming 26 off 22 balls, hitting two sixes and two fours off opening bowler Andre Nel.

The pace was maintained by Powell, who hit 34 off 34 balls, before Chanderpaul was joined by Sarwan (77 not out) in a third-wicket stand of 108.

Chanderpaul was caught behind when Shaun Pollock, the only South African bowler who escaped a pummelling, returned to the attack in the 33rd over.

But any thoughts the home side had of getting back into the game were destroyed by Sarwan and Lara, who thrashed the bowling in an unbeaten partnerhsip of 100 off 75 balls.

Fast bowlers Nel and Makhaya Ntini were targeted early on, with Nel conceding 38 runs off three overs and Ntini 17 off two when he replaced Nel.

The West Indies were always ahead of the required run rate.

Kallis was stranded five short of his sixth hundred against the West Indies during the season as South Africa made first use of the first batsman-friendly pitch of the one-day series after Smith, on his 23rd birthday, won the toss.

Kallis has been in phenomenal form against the West Indies on the current tour, scoring 712 runs at an average of 178 in the Test series, hitting centuries in each of the four matches.

Sunday's innings took his total in the one-day contests to 222 for once out, including an unbeaten century in the first match in Cape Town.

Big-hitting Lance Klusener joined Kallis in an unbeaten fifth wicket stand of 107 off 93 balls, hitting 41 not out off 38 deliveries.

Kallis was on 94 at the start of the final over, bowled by Corey Collymore but although he faced four balls in the over he could add only one more run. He made his 95 off 97 deliveries with seven fours and a six.

The West Indies added to their problems by sending down 12 no-balls and eight wides.

The wides cost a total of 14 runs, with two extra being scored off one from Gayle and Sarwan's first delivery, well down the leg-side, going for an additional four. Off-spinner Ryan Hurley bowled an astonishing six no-balls and Gayle two.

But the momentum swung as early as the second over of the West Indian reply when Gayle slammed Nel over long-off for six, before hitting Nel for 4,6,4 off successive balls in the fourth over.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Mark Boucher, Boeta Dippenaar, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Lance Klusener, Andre Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Robin Peterson, Shaun Pollock, Jacques Rudolph.

West Indies: Brian Lara (captain), Chris Gayle, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ridley Jacobs, Corey Collymore, Mervyn Dillon, Ravi Rampaul, Dwayne Smith, Ryan Hurley, Ricardo Powell.

Umpires: Aleem Dar, Pakistan, and Brian Jerling, South Africa.

TV umpire: Ian Howell, South Africa.

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle, Sri Lanka.

First Published: Feb 01, 2004 14:14 IST