Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 13, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Western Railways steam past Shahdara

WR is the first team to win in regulation time after their 6-0 victory in the Nehru Hockey tournament qualifiers, writes Uthra Ganesan.

india Updated: Nov 16, 2006 00:42 IST

Western Railway (WR) became the first team to win in regulation time when they thrashed Shahdara Heroes 6-0 in the Nehru Hockey tournament qualifiers on Wednesday.

The game was expected to be one-sided and the difference between the two sides is evident from the scoreline. But, to their credit, Shahdara Heroes managed to contain their opponents, at least in the first half.

Jayesh Jadhav and Hardeep Singh were the pick of the WR players. While Jadhav scored three goals, Hardeep scored one but was instrumental in setting up two more. Shakti Thakur and Amarjeet Singh scored one apiece.

WR went into half-time with a 2-0 lead, but they only seemed to be warming up. They pumped in two in the 39th minute - both by Jadhav, after being put through by Alvin and Jasdev Singh, respectively - to effectively quell any hopes Shahdara may have had of making a match of it.

Both teams missed several scoring chances, especially with their penalty corners. While WR could convert only one of the five corners they earned, Shahdara failed to score off the five they got.

In an earlier match, Indian Navy beat ONGC 7-5 via tie-breaker after being tied 3-3 at the end of regulation time. Sunder Singh scored a brace while captain Amit Srivastav scored one for ONGC. Kartar Singh, AK Kiro and SB Gorde scored for Navy.

Thursday’s matches: Indian Navy vs S-C Railway (1.15 pm), Karnataka XI vs IAF XI (3.15 pm)

First Published: Nov 16, 2006 00:42 IST