Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 22, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

2017 assembly polls: Simarjeet Bains biggest spender in Ludhiana district at Rs 25.2 lakh

The district elections tehsildar office recently tabulated the expenditure by 127 candidates who submitted their proofs in mid-April.

punjab Updated: May 01, 2017 13:06 IST
Rameshinder Sandhu
Rameshinder Sandhu
Hindustan Times, Ludhiana
Simarjeet Bains,Rs 25.2 lakh,2017 assembly polls
Simarjeet Singh Bains of Lok Insaaf Party campaigning during Vidhan Sabha elections.(HT File Photo)

In this year’s Vidhan Sabha elections, 127 candidates spent Rs 6.7 crore during their poll campaign. Of them all, MLA Simarjeet Singh Bains of Lok Insaaf Party turned out to be the biggest spender at Rs 25.2 lakh.

He is followed by Manpreet Singh Ayali of Shiromani Akali Dal who spent Rs 24.1 lakh, and MLA HS Phoolka of the Aam Aadmi Party who spent Rs 23.2 lakh.

The district elections tehsildar office recently tabulated the expenditure by 127 candidates who submitted their proofs in mid-April.

While Simarjeet Bains and Phoolka won from Atam Nagar and Dakha constituencies, Ayali lost to Phoolka despite spending more than him.

All the three candidates who spent the least hail from Ludhiana West constituency.

In this list, independent candidate Baldev Raj Katna topped at Rs 1,400. He is followed by Navpreet Singh Bedi at Rs 2,785 and Congress candidate Arun Kumar who spent Rs 4, 773.

On the flip side, there were those who did not spend at all but were still able to gain some votes. These include Dharamjit Singh of Sada Punjab Party from Khanna (270 votes), Independent candidate Bhupinder Singh from Khanna (174 votes) and Mandeep Singh Dhaliwal of Swabhiman Party from Ludhiana West (75 votes).

District tehsildar officer Anju Bala said, “The EC fixed the limit at Rs 28 lakh for candidates and none exceeded this amount. All the candidates came on their own to submit their expenditure reports. Many also maintained an expenditure register along with bills.”


A total of 134 candidates fought the elections from Ludhiana district.

However, seven candidates — Kunvar Ranjan Singh of Democratic Swaraj Party (Ludhiana South), Independent Maninder Sharma (Ludhiana South), Ravi Kumar Vaid of Swabhiman Party (Atam Nagar), Independent Udham Singh Gill (Atam Nagar), Jaswinder Singh of Bahujan Samaj Party (Dakha), Sukhpreet Singh of Aapna Punjab Party (Gill) and Rajinder Kumar of Bahujan Samaj Party (Ludhiana North) — failed to submit their expenditure proofs.

Deputy commissioner Pradeep Kumar Aggarwal said, “All the candidates were supposed to submit their expenditure reports with proofs 30 days after the election results but as we did not receive any update from these candidates, we have written to the EC to take the next step against them. They may get a notice asking for an explanation and can also be disqualified for future elections.”


“I spent the most on special LED screens that we brought from Uttar Pradesh for screenings. We also took services from a Punjab-based advertising agency that designed logos, posters and hoardings and handled social media for us. Special vehicles were designed to carry the LED screens. We also spent a lot on fuel as we reached out to as many people as possible,” said Simarjeet Singh Bains.

First Published: May 01, 2017 12:49 IST

more from punjab