Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 13, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

India vs Pakistan WT20 highlights: Pak manage 118/5 on turning pitch

Indian captain MS Dhoni won the toss and opted to bowl first against Pakistan at the World T20 match in Kolkata’s Eden Gardens on Saturday.

world t20 Updated: Mar 20, 2016 19:10 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
World T20,India vs Pakistan,MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni will look to Ashish Nehra to deliver with the new ball.(AP Photo)


Over 18: 7 off the last over from Bumrah and Pakistan end at 118/5. India need 119 to win.

(Follow India’s chase here)

Over 17: 8 off Nehra and the important wicket of the dangerous-looking Shoaib Malik for 26 off 16. 111/5

16.2 Nehra to Shoaib Malik, OUT

Caught at short fine leg! Nehra slanted the ball across the right-hander, bowling it into the pitch and making the ball grip, Malik pulled and the top edge swirled high in the air but only went as far as Ashwin in the circle

Over 16: 8 off Jadeja and the wicket of Umar Akmal. 103/4

15.5 Jadeja to Umar Akmal, OUT

Caught behind! Akmal tries to cut one that spins sharply away from him and gets an edge through to Dhoni, he’s played a really good innings under the circumstances

Over 15: 13 off Bumrah, an expensive over. 95/3

Over 14: Big over for Pakistan, two sixes off it. 82/3

Over 13: 2 runs off Nehra. 67/3

Over 12:11 off the over, including the big wicket of the dangerous Afridi. 65/3

11.5 Pandya to Shahid Afridi, OUT

He’s holed out to long-on, short of a length outside off, the ball takes ages to reach the batsman for a seamer and Afridi pulls early, ms-timing it straight to Kohli in the deep. Pandya is pumped and celebrates accordingly

Over 11: 3 off Jadeja. 54/2

Over 10: 9 off Bumrah, including the wicket of Shehzad. 51/2

9.2 Bumrah to Ahmed Shehzad, OUT

Caught by the man running back from point! Shehzad aimed for the hoick across the line towards the leg side, the ball just did not come on to the bat and he ended up getting the top edge that flew beyond the circle, Jadeja ran back from point and judged it well

Over 9: 3 off Jadeja. 42/1

Over 8: 5 off Raina and the wicket of Sharjeel Khan. 39/1

7.4 Raina to Sharjeel Khan, OUT

A superb catch but has Pandya hurt himself? Sharjeel mis-timed the pull horribly, it was a long hop too, hit in the air just beyond the circle at mid-on. Pandya came sprinting in full tilt from the boundary and dived forward, he caught in cleanly but then hit the ground really hard on his chest, and then did a somersault of sorts rather awkwardly because of his momentum. He looks a bit dazed ...

Over 7: 6 off Jadeja’s first over. 34/0

Over 6: 4 off Ashwin. 28/0

Over 5: 5 off Bumrah. 24/0

Over 4: 7 off Ashwin. 19/0

Over 3: 7 runs off Nehra, including Pakistan’s first boundary. 12/0

Over 2: Dhoni introduces Ashwin in the second over. Just two off it. 5/0

Over 1: 3 runs off Nehra’s first over. Pakistan 3/0

Indian captain MS Dhoni won the toss and opted to bowl first against Pakistan at the rain-curtailed World T20 match in Kolkata’s Eden Gardens on Saturday.

(Ind vs NZ WT20 full scorecard, ball-by-ball commentary, graphs and more)

The rain relented but the wet outfield forced officials to reduce the contest to an 18-overs-a-side game between the neighbours.

“The field is a bit sticky and it (decision to field) also gives us time to see what really is happening in the wicket,” the India captain said.

India, who named the same side who lost to New Zealand in their tournament opener, have never lost a World Cup match against their traditional arch-rivals.

Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi is expecting his top order to shine again.

“They are playing well, and we are expecting some more performance like that from Ahmed Shehzad who is in good form, and Mohammad Hafeez as well,” he said.



MS Dhoni (captain, wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh


Shahid Afridi (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Sami, Sarfraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Sharjeel Khan, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Wahab Riaz

First Published: Mar 19, 2016 20:17 IST