Lutyens himself designed only four bungalows | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 22, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lutyens himself designed only four bungalows

delhi Updated: Sep 01, 2011 13:36 IST
Nivedita Khandekar
Nivedita Khandekar
Hindustan Times
Nivedita Khandekar

"This remains a colossal and most wonderful achievement and should make father's name go down in history as one of the architect of all time," wrote Lady Emily, wife of Edwin Lutyens, to her children after attending the inaugural celebrations of the new capital in February 1931.

As it turns out, Lutyens' name did go down in history what with the area now recognised as 'Lutyens' Delhi' or alternatively, 'Lutyens' Bungalow Zone (LBZ). But except for just four bungalows inside the Rashtrapati Bhavan, none of the other bungalows can be credited to Lutyens.

Herbert Baker, also credited with the North and South Blocks, designed a series of bungalows on the then King George's Avenue (i.e. south of the Secretariats) for high-level officials. Apart from Baker, Robert Tor Russel, William Henry Nicholls, CG Blomfield, FB Blomfield, Walter Sykes George, Arthur Gordon Shoosmith and Henry Medd comprised the brilliant team of architects who created New Delhi.

The four bungalows designed by Lutyens are those that were meant for then private secretary, surgeon general, military secretary and comptroller. Today these are called MTC 1, MTC 2, MTC 3 and MTC 4 (MTC: Mother Teresa Crescent).

Continuing with the intended purpose, MTC 3 and MTC 4 are occupied by Secretary to the President and the Military Secretary as on date.

However, MTC 1 houses the office of Roshni Prachodaya Society that run the green initiatives under the Roshni project inside the President's Estate while MTC 2 has been converted into a guest house.