Less than 6% attendance: Sachin, Rekha worst RS performers | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Less than 6% attendance: Sachin, Rekha worst RS performers

india Updated: Dec 18, 2015 10:14 IST
HT correspondent, New Delhi

Both Tendulkar and Rekha have less than 6% attendance and has not participated even in a single debate in Rajya Sabha(Hindustan Times)

Ace cricketer Sachin Tendulkar and yester-year Bollywood actress Rekha are the worst performers among the nominated members of Rajya Sabha, according to a report.

Factly, a data journalism portal, analysed the performance of the ten nominated members of the upper house and found out that both Tendulkar and Rekha have less than 6% attendance and have not participated even in a single debate.

Who are the nominated members in the Rajya Sabha?

The Rajya Sabha or the Upper House has 12 nominated members. These members are nominated by the President on the advice of the government of the day.Currently there are 10 nominated members. Four of them were nominated in 2010, five of them in 2012 and one in 2014. Here is the list of all the nominated members.

Take a look at the following graphics which depicts the performance of the nominated members in terms of attendance, participation in debates, questions asked, MPLADS spending & the amount of expenditure incurred on them in the form of salary & allowances.

Congress MP and agricultural economist Bhalchandra Mungekar has the highest attendance with 89% followed by philosopher and educationalist Mrinal Miri & noted lawyer K T S Tulsi (88.5%). The worst performers in attendance are Sachin Tendulkar (5.5%) and Rekha (5.1%).

Bhalchandra Mungekar asked the highest number of questions (272), followed by Congress leader Mani Shankar Aiyar (178). Five members did not ask a single question till date - Noted lawyer and former Attorney General of India K Parasaran, Bollywood actress Rekha, social activist and business woman Anu Aga, theatre actor and singer B Jayashree & lyricist Javed Akthar.

The data on debates is available only till the 233rd session (till December, 2014). Bhalchandra Mungekar participated in 60 debates while Mani Shankar Aiyar participated in 65 debates. Three of the nominated members haven’t participated in a single debate - Sachin Tendulkar, Rekha & B Jayashree.

MPLADS Spending

Under the Member of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme (MPLADS), each MP has the choice to suggest to the District Collector for, works to the tune of Rs 5 Crore per annum to be taken up in his/her constituency. Since the MP only has a recommendatory role, the analysis only looks at the amount entitled to the MP, amount available to spend and the amount recommended for works.

Bhalchandra Mungekar recommended the highest amount for works (28.03 crore) followed by Mani Shankar Aiyar (27.13 crore). Four of the ten MPs had recommended works amounting to more than 20 crore. Sachin Tendulkar recommended works amounting to 14.95 crore. The other four MPs recommended works amounting to less than 10 crore each. The MPLADS details of K T S Tulsi were not available on the website.