Capt Amarinder takes oath as Punjab CM; Modi tweets best wishes
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Capt Amarinder takes oath as Punjab CM; Modi tweets best wishes

Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee (PPCC) chief Capt Amarinder Singh will be sworn in as the Punjab’s 26th chief minister at the Raj Bhawan in Chandigarh today.

assembly elections Updated: Mar 16, 2017 13:58 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
Capt Amarinder Singh,Punjab chief minister,Punjab Congress
(Left to right) Charanjit Singh Channi, Aruna Chaudhary, Sadhu Singh Dharamsot, Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa, Punjab governor VP Singh Badnore, Capt Amarinder Singh, Brahm Mohindra, Rana Gurjit Singh, Manpreet Singh Badal, Navjot Singh Sidhu and Razia Sultana posing for a photograph after the oath-taking ceremony in Chandigarh on Thursday. (Sanjeev Sharma/HT)

Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee (PPCC) chief Capt Amarinder Singh was sworn in as the state’s 26th chief minister at the Raj Bhawan in Chandigarh.

This is Capt Amarinder’s second stint as Punjab CM. The oath of office was administered by Punjab governor VP Singh Badnore.

Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Rahul Gandhi at Capt Amarinder’s swearing-in in Chandigarh on Thursday. (Keshav Singh/HT)

Also read | No deputy CM, Mohindra, Sidhu to follow

The constitutional cap of 15% ministers in the 117 – member House allows the new Congress government to induct a maximum of 18 Cabinet members, including the chief minister.


11:15 am: Apna Punjab Party congratulates Capt Amarinder.

11:00 am: Meanwhile, traffic jams were seen in areas around the Raj Bhawan.

Traffic jam at the Sector 26-Sector 7 roundabout in Chandigarh on Thursday. (Karun Sharma/HT)

10: 47 am: “Wishing you the very best in working for Punjab’s development,” Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulates Capt Amarinder Singh on Twitter.

10: 46 am: Attendence of top Congress leadership highlights the importance of the victory in Punjab.

Capt’s friend from Pakistan and former journalist Aroosa Alam at the swearing-in in Chandigarh on Thursday, 16 March 2017. (Keshav Singh/HT)

10:42 am : Aruna Chaudhary takes oath in Hindi

10:38 am: AAP’s HS Phoolka, who will be the leader of Opposition in the 15th Punjab Vidhan Sabha, tweets about unavailability of seats at the swearing-in.

10: 32 am: Six-time MLA and Congress stalwart Brahm Mohindra takes oath.

10:28 am: Sadhu Singh Dharamsot takes oath in Punjabi.

10:26 am: Manpreet Badal takes oath as cabinet minister.

Manpreet Singh Badal taking oath in at Captain Amarinder’s swearing-in ceremony in Chandigarh on Thursday. (ANI )

10:24: Navjot Singh Sidhu takes oath as cabinet minister; goes on to touch Capt Amarinder’s feet.

Navjot Singh Sidhu taking oath. The cricketer-turned-politician took oath in Punjabi. (ANI)

10:18 am: Capt Amarinder Singh takes oath as Punjab chief minister.

10:15 am: Congress leaders and other dignitaries at the swearing-in ceremony.

Dignitaries at the Capt’s coronation in Chandigarh on Thursday. (Punjab Congress Twitter handle)

9:30 am: Preparations are underway at the Raj Bhawan for the swearing-in.

9:20 am: Rahul Gandhi is expected to attend the swearing-in ceremony, which will be simple affair.

7:30 am: Captain Amarinder Singh’s wax statue made in Ludhiana, ahead of his swearing in as Punjab Chief Minister today.

Capt Amarinder Singh wax statue in Ludhiana. (ANI)

12:30 am: According to Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee’s letter (accessed by HT) to the Raj Bhawan, seven cabinet ministers and two ministers of state will be administered the oath of office along with the CM.

The story so far

It was a huge victory for the Congress in the assembly elections, the results of which were declared on March 11 — the Captain’s birthday. The Congress returned to power with a thumping triumph, emphatically brushing aside the challenge posed by the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in the first-ever three-horse race in the border state.

The Congress notched 77 of the 117 seats, up from 46 in the 2012 assembly elections. The party is short of a two-third majority by only one seat. This is the party’s second best-ever performance in the state. Its highest tall was 87 seats in 1992 in an election boycotted by the Akalis.

Despite a win in Punjab, Congress was trounced in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand assembly elections, and was caught off-guard in Goa and Manipur despite winning the highest seats. Congress leaders in the four states have their views on what went wrong, who is to blame, and what is the way forward. Read here.

‘AAP’ factor

Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal “responsibility” for the party’s below-par performance in Punjab but alleged that large-scale irregularities in electronic voting machines (EVMs) might have led to transfer of about 20-25% of Aam Aadmi Party’s votes to the SAD-Akali combine. Kejriwal’s AAP finished with 20 seats in the 117-member Punjab assembly after internal surveys pointed to a sweep for the party.

Read more | Arvind Kejriwal accepts ‘responsibility’ for Punjab defeat, but blames EVMs

First Published: Mar 16, 2017 09:31 IST