Sep 22, 2019-Sunday

select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Sunday, Sep 22, 2019
Arun Kumar

Arun Kumar


Arun Kumar is Senior Assistant Editor with Hindustan Times. He has spent two-and-half decades covering Bihar, including politics, educational and social issues.

articles by Arun Kumar (1369 results)
Sep 05, 2019 17:12
Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar told the teachers that his government was willing to do something for them if they deserved it, however, he said that teachers shouldn’t be negligent towards their primary duty of teaching read more
Sep 05, 2019 15:30
On the occasion, he also launched the ‘Unnayan Bihar’, modelled on the lines of highly successful ‘Unnayan Banka’ project, for class 9-12 in all secondary and higher secondary schools read more
Aug 29, 2019 14:52
An 11-judge bench of the high court, headed by Chief Justice AP Shahi, also suspended Justice Rakesh Kumar’s order on the case on Thursday, saying the single judge bench had no jurisdiction to pass such an order on a case that had been closed. read more
Aug 28, 2019 16:12
The State Vigilance Investigation Bureau has registered 337 FIRS involving 903 teachers across the state, of which services of 639 teachers have been terminated by the department of education, while salary has stopped for some others. read more
Aug 26, 2019 13:59
JD(U) general secretary and former MP KC Tyagi said that the party would challenge the decision in the high court as well the EC. “We will study the order and act accordingly,” he added. read more
Aug 24, 2019 19:08
Three universities of Bihar are currently without full-fledged vice chancellors and under additional charge of VCS of other universities. read more
Aug 23, 2019 18:33
For top-rankers in the board exams conducted by the Bihar school examination board (BSEB), the students need to do a lot of hard work beyond books and persevere for years to convince the authorities about their bonafide claim even if it means knocking... read more
Aug 22, 2019 17:32
External affairs minister S Jaishankar is on a two-day visit to Nepal to participate in the fifth Nepal-India joint commission meeting, which will involve detailed discussions on key issues, including flood management and forecasting on both sides. read more
Aug 22, 2019 14:16
Once the lightning censor at Gaya becomes operational, it will cover several districts in the surrounding areas, including Patna, Nalanda, Nawada, Jehanabad, Ara, Sasaram, Aurangabad etc. read more
Aug 22, 2019 14:13
The seventh oldest university in the country with a legacy of 102 years and which aspires to be converted into a central university, PU is the sixth university to go in for NAAC accreditation in Bihar. read more
Aug 20, 2019 10:26
Having started his career as a lecturer, he went to become professor of economics, but his natural inclination was towards politics. In his heyday, he was regarded as the tallest leader in Bihar. read more
Aug 05, 2019 10:19
Vice President Venkaiah Naidu’s response came after Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar said that considering the rich legacy of Patna University, it was his desire to see it grow into one of the best and biggest universities of Asia. read more
Jul 30, 2019 09:03
Under the new centralised finance management system (CFMS), the salary to university and college teachers and employees will be paid through the treasury, instead of earlier system of releasing grants for varsities. read more
Jul 02, 2019 08:28
Maintaining that Bihar’s underground water was also under growing stress because of unbridled exploitation, he warned there would be a day when things could get even worse, if the society did not respond to the challenge. read more
Jul 01, 2019 15:21
Between April 1, 2018 and May 31, 2019, Patna witnessed the highest liquor-related raids in Bihar, yet in terms of recoveries it ranked way below many bordering districts. read more