Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 10, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Aditya Waghmode guides Baroda to biggest win in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Aditya Waghmode’s 148 powered Baroda to 378 for seven in the most lopsided of the three Group A matches played in and around Bangalore. Assam were routed for 99 in 30 overs

cricket Updated: Feb 16, 2018 23:35 IST
Aditya Waghmode,Vijay Hazare Trophy,Baroda cricket team
Aditya Waghmode hit 17 fours and four sixes en roue to scoring for Baroda against Assam in Vijay Hazare Trophy.(PTI)

Baroda inflicted a 279-run defeat on Assam in the Vijay Hazare Trophy one-day tournament on Friday, registering the biggest win in a one-day game on Indian soil.

Aditya Waghmode’s 148 powered Baroda to 378 for seven in the most lopsided of the three Group A matches played in and around Bangalore.

READ | Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana fire India to 9-wicket win vs South Africa in 2nd women’s T20

The 28-year-old left-handed batsman (128 b, 17x4, 4x6) and Kedar Devdhar (61) left the Assam bowlers reeling after they elected to bowl in the hope of exploiting some early life in the pitch at Alur. In reply, Assam were routed for 99 in 30 overs despite opener Parvez Aziz scoring 50.

Karnataka qualified for the knockouts with a tense win over Railways. In-form batsman Mayank Agarwal top-scored with 89, but skipper Karun Nair, who opened with him, fell for 13. Karnataka were all out for 257 with experienced seamer Anureet Singh taking three wickets. However, the Railways top-order crumbled against pacers T Pradeep (4/48) – he did most of the damage at the top -- and Prasidh Krishna (4/35).

READ | David Warner in no rush to take over Australia’s T20 cricket captaincy

The Karnataka pace duo had Railways reeling at 54 for six before the No 7 to 10 -- Ankit Yadav (51), Anureet Singh (59), Avinash Yadav (40) and Amit Mishra (28) – led the rally, raising hopes of an unlikely victory. Karnataka eventually won by 16 runs, bowling out Railways for 241 in 47.1 overs.

In the other game, Odisha defeated Haryana by nine wickets. Haryana won the toss and elected to bat, but they were in serious trouble with the top four batsmen together making 13 runs. They were reeling by 33-year-old Odisha seamer, Deepak Behera, who claimed 6/22.

READ | Former English cricket club captain jailed for having sex with underage girl

From 57 for seven, Haryana made some recovery thanks to a 72 by Sanjay Dhull. Still, 171 was too less to trouble Odisha and unbeaten half-centuries by Anurag Sarangi (84no) and Shantanu Mishra (53no) took them to victory with 18.2 overs left.

Brief Scores:

Group A

Baroda 378/7 in 50 overs (K Devdhar 61, A Waghmode 148, MK Dutta 2/92); Assam 99 all out in 30 overs (P Aziz 50, Swapnil Singh 2/0). Baroda won by 279 runs.

Haryana 170 all out 45.4 overs (S Dhull 72, H Patel 50, D Behera 6/22); Odisha 172/1 (Anurag Sarangi 84 no, S Mishra 53 no). Odisha won by 9 wickets.

Karnataka 257 all out in 48.1 overs (M Agarwal 89, P Deshpande 65, Anureet Singh 3/36); Railways 241 all out 47.1 overs (Ankit Yadav 51, Anuneet Singh 59, Prasidh Krishna 4/35, T Pradeep 4/48). Karnataka won by 16 runs.

First Published: Feb 16, 2018 22:23 IST