Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 18, 2018-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Anil Kumble gets his dues post acrimonious exit as India cricket team’s coach

Anil Kumble had controversially quit as India cricket team’s head coach after the ICC Champions Trophy final loss against Pakistan in June, calling his partnership with captain Virat Kohli “untenable”.

cricket Updated: Aug 08, 2017 19:44 IST
Anil Kumble,Virat Kohli,Indian Cricket team
Anil Kumble refused extension of his contract after the ICC Champions Trophy, citing Indian cricket team captain Virat Kohli’s reservation over his ‘style’ of functioning.(PTI)

Anil Kumble has been paid his dues of close to Rs 1 crore by the BCCI, marking a closure to his acrimonious episode as the head coach of the Indian cricket team.

(Read | Virat Kohli forcing Anil Kumble out ‘sad day for Indian cricket’: Sunil Gavaskar)

The BCCI made the disclosure on its official website as part of a monthly exercise of publishing payments above Rs 25 lakh.

Kumble was paid approximately Rs 48.75 lakh each as “professional fees” for May and June, the Board has claimed.

(Read | Cheteshwar Pujara says he won’t mind sledging if it helps Indian bowlers)

Kumble had controversially quit two days after the Champions Trophy final loss against Pakistan in London in June, calling his partnership with captain Virat Kohli “untenable”.

Ravi Shastri, whom Kumble had replaced, was called back to the national team as the new head coach till the 2019 World Cup.

Shastri beat the likes of Virender Sehwag and Tom Moody for the high-profile job.

(Read | Moeen Ali hails Saqlain Mushtaq’s role in solid show against South Africa)

India pacer Ishant Sharma, who is no more a regular in the Test squad, was also paid close to Rs 1 crore.

The prize money of Rs 45 lakh each too was released to the members of Indian women’s cricket team, which finished runner-up to England in the ICC World Cup final.

One time benefit payment of Rs 35 lakh each was released to former India cricketers including Vivek Razdan, Sarandeep Singh, Salil Ankola, Reetinder Sodhi, Yograj Singh and Robin Singh.

First Published: Aug 08, 2017 19:44 IST