New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Dec 04, 2020-Friday



Select Country
Select city
Home / Cricket / Group C tie: Kenya win by seven wickets

Group C tie: Kenya win by seven wickets

Kenyan skipper Steve Tikolo and opener Maurice Ouma hit half centuries to guide their team to a convincing win, reports Anjali Behl.

cricket Updated: Apr 21, 2007, 03:10 IST
Anjali Behl
Anjali Behl

Steve Tikolo and Maurice Ouma scored half centuries to guide Kenya to a seven-wicket win over Canada in the first Group C match of the World Cup on Wednesday.

Tikolo helped his side register a convincing win by his unbeaten 72 off 76 balls. Opener Ouma did his bit by contributing 58 runs to the Kenyan side.

Kenyan innings

Opener David Obuya (22) made his way back to the pavilion when he was caught behind by Bagai off Cummins' delivery. Ravi Shah was trapped before by Bhatti in the 13th over. Shah returned back at six.

Opener Maurice Ouma, the second highest scorer of the Kenyan side with 58 runs, was caught by Ashif Mulla off Sunil Dhaniram's delivery. He held a successful 67-run partnership with Tikolo.

Tanmay Mishra stepped in to support his skipper as the two steered the side to victory. Mishra remained unbeaten on 35.

Canadian innings

Earlier, Kenya skipper Steve Tikolo won the toss and elected to field in the seesaw battle between the two minnows.

Opener Geoff Barnett struck five boundaries in the 14th over only to caught by Tanmay Mishra off Peter Ongondo's delivery. He was the highest scorer of the Canadian innings with 41 runs off 50 balls, which included nine boundaries.

Hiren Varaiya took the third wicket for Kenya when he stumped Ashish Bagai (19). Spinner Jimmy Kamande's double strike trapped John Davison (8) before the wicket shortly followed by Qaiser Ali (7).

Skipper Steve Tikolo struck again twice dismissing Ian Billcliff (34) and Ashif Mulla (25).

The last three overs saw a flurry of run-outs as the Canadian players tried to score runs in haste. Umar Bhatti, Anderson Cummins and Henry Osinde, returned to the pavilion for one run each.

Staggering to reach the 200-run milepost, Canada were bundled up by the Kenyan bowlers for 199/9 at the end of their innings.


Kenya: Maurice Ouma, David Obuya, Ravi Shah, Steve Tikolo, Tanmay Mishra, Collins Obuya, Thomas Odoyo, Jimmy Kamande, Nehemiah Odhiambo, Peter Ongondo, Hiren Varaiya.

Canada: John Davison, Geoff Barnett, Abdool Samad, Ashish Bagai, Ian Billcliff, Ashif Mulla, Qaiser Ali, Sunil Dhaniram, Umar Bhatti, Anderson Cummins, Henry Osinde.

Get Latest Cricket Updates, Live scores and Top news on HT Cricket.

ht epaper

Sign In to continue reading