New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Dec 09, 2019-Monday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Monday, Dec 09, 2019

India vs Bangladesh: Visitors touch down in Delhi ahead of first T20I - see pics

Ind vs Ban: Delhi will host the first T20I at Arun Jaitley Stadium to mark the opening of a gripping series between the two neighbouring nations.  

cricket Updated: Oct 31, 2019 08:23 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Players of Bangladesh cricket team pose for a photo.
Players of Bangladesh cricket team pose for a photo.(BCB/ Twitter)

The players of Bangladesh cricket team touched down in Delhi on Wednesday ahead of their T20I series against India. The ‘Bangla Tigers’ are scheduled to play three T20Is and two Tests against India starting Sunday. Delhi will host the first T20I at Arun Jaitley Stadium to mark the opening of the much-anticipated series between the two neighbouring nations.  

Mahmudullah Riyad and Mominul Haque have been handed the reins of Bangladesh’s T20 and Test squads respectively after the ICC slapped a two-year ban on regular skipper Shakib Al Hasan for failing to report three corrupt approaches.

Also Read: Tickets for Kolkata Test to have tinge of pink to symbolise Day-Night game

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) named Mahmudullah as the T20 captain, while Mominul will lead the Test side against India.

Left-arm spinner Taijul Islam, who made his T20I debut earlier this year against Zimbabwe, was included in the T20 squad in place of Shakib, while Mohammad Mithun and Imrul Kayes also found a place in the squad after Bangladesh had to make changes due to the absence of Tamim Iqbal and Mohammad Saifuddin. 

Mithun replaced Tamim, who decided to stay with his wife with the couple expecting their second child, while Abu Hider Rony came in place of Saifuddin, who was ruled out of the series because of a recurring back injury.

Returning to the Test squad after their tour of New Zealand in March was Bangladesh left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman, who will be also available for the T20Is.

Also Read: India vs Bangladesh full schedule: Date and time of all the matches

India and Bangladesh will play their maiden Day-Night Test during the tour in Kolkata from November 22 to 26, the second game of the two-Test series.

Bangladesh T20I squad: Mahmudullah (C), Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Arafat Sunny, Al-Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Taijul Islam, Abu Hider.

Bangladesh Test squad: Shadman Islam, Imrul Kayes, Saif Hassan, Mominul Haque (C), Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Abu Jayed, Ebadat Hossain.

((With agency inputs))