New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 17, 2019-Thursday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Thursday, Oct 17, 2019

India vs South Africa Test series named ‘Freedom Series’

The India vs South Africa Tests have been named ‘Freedom Series’.

cricket Updated: Dec 22, 2017 23:22 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, New Delhi
The Indian cricket team will be touring South Africa early next year under Virat Kohli’s leadership.
The Indian cricket team will be touring South Africa early next year under Virat Kohli’s leadership.(PTI)

The upcoming three-Test series between India and hosts South Africa has been named as “Freedom Series”.

“This tour was originally labelled the Friendship Series. It was South Africa’s way of reciprocating India’s efforts in ending the country’s sporting isolation in 1991.

READ | Ashes: Steve Smith defends under-fire England cricket team coach

“India had been among the principal opponents of apartheid. The Freedom Series was felt by both nations to be a be more fitting name in recognition of South Africa’s and India’s shared history of winning freedom through non-violence, not to mention their shared love of cricket!” said a media release issued by Cricket South Africa.

A specially designed Freedom Series Trophy Podium will also commemorate the landmark series and will be unveiled in a special ceremony ahead of the first Test, commencing in Cape Town on January 5, 2018.

READ | IPL: Chennai Super Kings set to retain MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja

The last two Tests are scheduled to be played at Centurion (from January 13) and Johannesburg (from January 24).

First Published: Dec 22, 2017 21:11 IST

top news