Karnataka canter to Vijay Hazare Trophy final with facile win over Maharashtra

Karnataka defeated Maharashtra by nine wickets to enter the final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy in New Delhi on Saturday.

cricket Updated: Feb 24, 2018 16:43 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, New Delhi
Vijay Hazare Trophy,Vijay Hazare Trophy final,Mayank Agarwal
Karun Nair guided Karnataka to a comprehensive victory over Maharashtra in the Vijay Hazare Trophy final in New Delhi on Saturday.(PTI)

Mayank Agarwal made a decent Maharashtra attack look pedestrian as he powered Karnataka into the final with a comfortable nine-wicket victory in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, here today.

Maharashtra’s batting collapsed on a day when it mattered most. On a good batting track, Maharashtra managed a paltry 160 in 44.3 overs.

READ | Pat Cummins gets Australians in front against South Africa A

The target was never going to be a big ask for a quality batting line-up as openers Agarwal (81 off 86 balls) and skipper Karun Nair (70 off 90 balls) made merry with no pressure of scoreboard, achieving the target in only 30.3 overs.

In sublime form throughout the season, the cover drives and on drives flowed off Agarwal’s bat as he has now become the highest ever run-getter in a single edition of National One Day with 633 runs. Today’s knock had eight boundaries and a six.

Anupam Sanklecha, Pradeep Dadhe and Shrikant Mundhe didn’t have the pace to bother the two openers and repeated half volleys only made it easy.

READ | South Africa name uncapped Heinrich Klaasen, Wiaan Mulder for Australia Tests

While Agarwal was off the blocks faster, Karun started matching him stroke for stroke once spinners were introduced into the attack.

Karun lofted off-spinner Prashant Kore for a boundary and then swept him for a boundary in the 17th over.

Agarwal completed his half century and 600 runs in the tournament with another cover drive off left-arm seamer Divyang Himganekar.

A late cut off left-arm spinner Satyajeet Bachhav was a treat. Meanwhile his skipper tapped for a single to complete his half century as they cruised to the target.

READ | Steve Smith left in splits after teammate’s wardrobe malfunction - watch video

Earlier, Mundhe (50, 77 balls) again played a good hand but none of the other batsmen could put up a fight.

Seamer M Prasidh Krishna (2/26 in 7.3 overs) and offie Krishnappa Gowtham (3/26 in 10 overs) were the wreckers-in-chief.

Brief scores: Maharashtra 160 in 44.3 overs (Shrikant Mundhe 50, Krishnappa Gowtham 3/26) lost to Karnataka 164/1 in 30.3 overs (Mayank Agarwal 81, Karun Nair 70 no).

First Published: Feb 24, 2018 15:45 IST