New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Aug 22, 2019-Thursday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Thursday, Aug 22, 2019

Karnataka firm favourites against darkhorses Vidarbha in Ranji Trophy

The Vinay Kumar-led Karnataka, which thrashed Mumbai by an innings and 20 runs en route to the semi-finals against Vidarbha, seems to be peaking at the right time in their quest for a ninth Ranji Trophy title and twice in five seasons.

cricket Updated: Dec 16, 2017 20:38 IST
PTI, Kolkata
R Vinay Kumar will lead Karnataka against Vidarbha in the Ranji Trophy semi-final.
R Vinay Kumar will lead Karnataka against Vidarbha in the Ranji Trophy semi-final.(HT Photo)

On a roll, Karnataka will start favourites against this season’s surprise package Vidarbha in the Ranji Trophy semi-final beginning here on Sunday.

The Vinay Kumar-led side, which thrashed Mumbai by an innings and 20 runs enroute to the semis, seems to be peaking at the right time in their quest for a ninth Ranji title and twice in five seasons.

READ | Shikhar Dhawan warns Sri Lanka of India openers’ wrath ahead of Visakhapatnam ODI

The most significant part of their victory was not letting Mumbai off the hook for once as captain Vinay Kumar became the fourth bowler to claim a hat-trick twice in the tournament’s history.

“Definitely beating Mumbai will help us, it will give us the extra cushion. But it’s past I can’t think much about it. We will take one game at a time. We would like to think this game (semis) rather than thinking about the last game,” Kumar said on eve of the semi-final.

After their historic double-treble over two successive seasons, Karnataka could not qualify for the semi-finals in the previous two seasons.

READ | Ranji Trophy semi-final: It’s Bengal bowling vs Delhi batting

“Last season, we reached quarterfinals but the wicket was much difficult to bat, had we won the toss we would have won the game easily,” he said about their defeat to Tamil Nadu in Vizag.

“Before that year, we did not qualify maybe by just one or two points. I am very much happy with our progress.

“We have played in this situation many times. We won two Ranji titles in four years, we have the experience. It’s all about going there and stick to our strengths.”

Both teams have qualified with four outright wins remaining unbeaten and going into the semi-final battle on an Eden Gardens greentop, they will be equally matched.

Mayank Agarwal has been the tournament leading run-getter amassing an astounding 1142 runs, but Vidarbha are not far behind in batting ability as left-hander Faiz Fazal (831 runs) will be their answer to the Karnataka opener.

READ | Indian cricket team targets dominant end, Sri Lanka eye history in Visakhapatnam

Along with Agarwal, Karnataka have R Samarth who has 643 runs at a healthy 64.30, and Shreyas Gopal who is fresh from a a career-best 150 not out against Mumbai.

In bowling also both the sides are evenly-matched with Krishnappa Gowtham as Karnataka’s regular wicket-taker while Vidarbha’s Akshay Wakhare has 29 in his kitty.

Vinay Kumar said toss would play a big role in the game. “We are ready to bowl in any kind of wicket. Definitely toss would play a big role. It’s a five day game. It’s not going to be a first innings game definitely and both teams will go for outright wins.”

Karnataka have beaten Vidarbha twice, while the other three games ended in a draw.

Uncertainty over Umesh

There is an air of uncertainty over the participation of India speedster Umesh Yadav in Vidarbha’s Ranji Trophy semifinal.

Busy doing rehab at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru, Yadav was conspicuous by his absence during the team’s training session this morning.

Vidarbha’s think-tank is tight-lipped about Yadav’s participation.

“Please speak to the Board (on Yadav’s availability). We are not allowed to speak as there has been a strict guideline from our association,” Vidarbha coach Chandrakant Pandit said.

Squads: Karnataka: R Vinay Kumar (captain), Karun Nair, Mayank Agarwal, Samarth R, Nischal D, Stuart Binny, C M Gautam, Shreyas Gopal, K Gowtham, Abhimanyu Mithun, S Arvind, Pavan Desphande, J Suchith, Mir Kaunain Abbas, Sharath Srinivas, Ronit More.

Vidarbha: Faiz Fazal (captain), Ganesh Satish, R Sanjay, Wasim Jaffar, Karn Sharma, Salabh Shrivastava, Apoorvva Wankhede (wk), Akshay Wakhare, Akshay Karnewar, Siddesh Wath, Aditya Sarvate, Rajneesh Gurbani, Siddesh Neral, Umesh Yadav and Shubham Kapase.

First Published: Dec 16, 2017 19:29 IST

more from cricket