New Zealand vs England, 2nd Test Day 1 in Hamilton: As it happened

Updated on Nov 29, 2019 11:07 AM IST
NZ vs ENG: Catch all the action of first day of second Test between New Zealand and England through our commentary.
New Zealand's Tom Latham celebrates his half century.(REUTERS)
New Zealand's Tom Latham celebrates his half century.(REUTERS)
Hindustan Times, New Delhi | By

Day 1: New Zealand dominated the proceedings on first day of the second Test against England in Hamilton. After Joe Root won the toss and elected to bowl first, Tom Latham hit an unbeaten hundred to wrest the advantage into New Zealand’s favour. Latham (101*) and Ross Taylor were involved in a century stand as New Zealand scored 173/3 before rain halted play on Day 1. Kane Williamson (4), Jeet Raval (5) and Ross Taylor (53 lost their wicket with Latham and Henry Nicholls (5) on the crease for the Kiwis.

Toss Update: England captain Joe Root won the toss and followed the standard practice at Hamilton’s Seddon Park and opted to bowl first in the second Test against New Zealand on Friday. England have made two changes with Chris Woakes replacing spinner Jack Leach while Zak Crawley comes in for the injured Jos Buttler with Ollie Pope taking over the wicketkeeping duties for only the sixth time in a first-class match. New Zealand have also made two changes, both injury enforced, with Daryl Mitchell in for Colin de Grandhomme while Matt Henry was preferred over Lockie Ferguson to replace Trent Boult.

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Jeet Raval, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling (wk), Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Matt Henry, Neil Wagner

England: Rory Burns, Dominic Sibley, Joe Denly, Joe Root (c), Ben Stokes, Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope (wk), Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad

Close Story
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, August 12, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now