Gurkeerat Singh to lead Board President’s XI in warm-up tie vs Australian cricket team

Gurkeerat Singh Mann will lead the Board President’s XI in a 50-over warm-up game vs the Australian cricket team at Chepauk on September 12. No place for Yuvraj Singh

cricket Updated: Sep 08, 2017 12:51 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, New Delhi
Yuvraj Singh,India vs Australia,Board President’s XI
Gurkeerat Singh Mann (left) and Manish Pandey during a ODI against Australia in Sydney on January 23, 2016. Gurkeerat Singh will lead Board President’s XI in a warm-up match against Australia later this month.(AP)

Yuvraj Singh has been ignored for the warm-up game between Board President’s XI and Australian cricket team at Chepauk on September 12. Gurkeerat Singh Mann will lead the Board President’s XI team.

The Indian cricket board’s sudden decision to hold Duleep Trophy forced the national selectors to name a depleted Board President’s XI squad that will take on Australia in a 50-over warm-up game.

Interestingly, Yuvraj Singh was ignored, which once again indicated that selectors are looking ahead. He was also not selected for the Irani Cup.

With the top 45 domestic performers selected for the Duleep Trophy, MSK Prasad-led committee selected a 15-member team that had some of the IPL performers like Rahul Tripathi, Nistish Rana and MS Washington Sundar along with completely unknown entities like Delhi’s left-arm quick Kulwant Khejroliya.

READ | Seven fours and a six, how Virat Kohli crushed Sri Lanka in Colombo T20 - See video

It is learnt that Delhi lad Khejroliya is being considered an exciting prospect with his ability to hit mid- 140s. He was a part of Mumbai Indians squad.

The Indian team management is looking for some left-arm fast bowling options and the move to give Khejroliya a game against international side may just be an opportunity to test his talent.

His has played only seven List A games for Delhi last season, taking 17 wickets.

Some like Odisha’s Govinda Poddar and UP’s Shivam Chaudhary have also been picked based on some decent Vijay Hazare Trophy performances despite not even scoring 500 runs in the first-class season.

Bengal’s Shreevats Goswami was picked as the top three scorers for Bengal -- Manoj Tiwary, Sudeep Chatterjee and Abhimanyu Easwaran -- are playing in the Duleep Trophy.

Shreevats has scored 492 runs last season with his maiden double hundred.

READ | Did Virat Kohli really win toss in Colombo T20 vs Lanka? Video shows otherwise

A BCCI official privy to selection matters admitted that the selection committee didn’t have too many options.

“The Duleep Trophy certainly set the selectors’ plans haywire. With Duleep Trophy on, this was the best set of domestic players available. People like Rahul and Washington have done well in the IPL while a few like Govinda and Shivam did decently in Vijay Hazare Trophy for their state sides,” the BCCI official told PTI on conditions of anonymity.

IPL specialist Mayank Agarwal did not do anything last season but has been picked due to lack of options. Agarwal has also been a big flop in the IPL as well as this year’s Karnataka Premier League.

India reject Gurkeerat Singh Mann, who failed to make the cut in Duleep teams have also got a chance.

READ | Virat Kohli satisfied with bench strength after unique clean sweep vs Sri Lanka

The fast bowlers have all been picked based on their talent more than wickets. There is Kulwant along with Madhya Pradesh’s former India U-19 Avesh Khan and Gujarat’s Kushang Patel. Punjab swing bowler Sandeep Sharma is also there in the squad.

There are two left-arm spinners in Tamil Nadu’s Rahil Shah and Maharashtra’s Akshay Karnewar.

Squad: Rahul Tripathi, Mayank Agarwal, Shivam Chaudhary, Nitish Rana, Govinda Poddar, Gurkeerat Mann, Shreevats Goswami, Akshay Karnewar, Kulwant Khejroliya, Kushang Patel, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Washington Sundar, Rahil Shah. Coach: Hemang Badani.

First Published: Sep 07, 2017 21:45 IST