Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 12, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Rohit Sharma, Parthiv Patel named as team captains in Deodhar Trophy 2017

Rohit Sharma was named as the captain of India ‘Blue’ while Parthiv Patel will be the skipper of India ‘Red’ in the Deodhar Trophy 2017.

cricket Updated: Mar 21, 2017 13:26 IST
HT Correspondent
Rohit Sharma,Deodhar Trophy 2017,Parthiv Patel
Rohit Sharma was out of international cricket for a long time due to injury concerns.(Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

Rohit Sharma will be looking to prove his mettle to the national selectors when he dons the captain’s hat for India ‘Blue’ in the Deodhar Trophy 2017.

The India cricket team opener has been out of international cricket due to an injury sustained in the ODI match against New Zealand in October 2016. After his recovery, he played two matches for Mumbai in the recently-concluded Vijay Hazare Trophy, but they didn’t turn out the way he had expected. Rohit Sharma did not enjoy the best of forms and could only make 16 and 4 runs in his two innings.

READ | Virat Kohli, Steve Smith spar over ‘softness’ of ball used in IND vs AUS series

The India ‘Red’ team will be captained by wicket-keeper Parthiv Patel who had a brilliant run in the domestic season and will also be looking to make his case in front of the selectors.

The tournament will be a great chance for the cricketers to prove themselves ahead of the team selection for Champions Trophy 2017 and it will also help them prepare for the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL).

READ | Steve Smith at it again, says momentum with Australia going into Dharamsala

The two sides will compete against Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017 winners - Tamil Nadu - in the tournament that will be played in Visakhapatnam between March 25 and 29.


India ‘Blue’: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Mandeep Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Rishabh Pant (wk), Deepak Hooda, Harbhajan Singh, Krunal Pandya, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddarth Kaul, Shardul Thakur, Prasidh Krishna, Pankaj Rao

India ‘Red’: Parthiv Patel (Captain & wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Mayank Agarwal, Kedar Jadhav, Ishank Jaggi, Gurkeerat Mann, Axar Patel, Akshay Karnewar, Ashok Dinda, Kulwant Khejroliya, Dhawal Kulkarni, Govinda Poddar

First Published: Mar 21, 2017 09:03 IST