New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Dec 10, 2019-Tuesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Dec 10, 2019

Sri Lanka beat India by eight wickets

The Lankans took a 1-0 lead in the five match series as they outplayed India in all the departments. Spl: Mission Sri Lanka

cricket Updated: Aug 18, 2008 16:44 IST

Hindustan Times

Sri Lanka registered a comprehensive eight wicket victory to take a 1-0 lead in the series. Mahele Jayawardena along with Kapugedera finished the Sri Lankan innings after it got a shaky start.

The much threatening partnership of Sangakkara and Jayawardena was broken by Patel as he dismissed the Sri Lankan keeper. Sangakkara chipped the ball back to the bowler and was easily taken by Patel to give India it's second wicket.

The partnership of Kumar Sangakkara and skipper Mahela Jayawardena added to India's worries as both the batsmen continued to pile the runs and move closer to the target.

Munaf Patel got India a much needed early breakthrough as he removed Sanath Jayasuriya. Sanath, who charged down the track, got a top edge as was taken by Irfan Pathan.

The Sri Lankan openers, Kumar Sanagakkara and Sanath Jayasuriya walked out to chase down India's mediocre target. Jayasuriya who loves to blast the attack, would be looking to end this match quickly

Mendis wrapped the Indian innings in style as he removed Munaf Patel, who obviously was not able to read him. Patel lost his leg stump as India finiahed at 146 in 46 overs.

Harbhajan Singh, was dismissed by Murali as India lost it's ninth wicket. Bhajji failed to judge the doosra and got an outside edge for an easy catch for Sangakkara. India were 126/9 after 44 overs.

India failed to build any sustainable partnership as wickets continued to fall at regular intervals. Murali then got his man as Zaheer Khan lost patience and went for a big one, only to be caught in the deep. India were 107/8 after 37 overs.

Murali then joined Mendis in the action as both bowlers were applying pressure on the Indian batting from both the ends. Murali too got into his act as he caught Irfan Pathan right in front by the doosra, but Pathan has to call himself unlucky as he got a slight inside edge, which the umpire failed to notice. India lost their seventh wicket. They were 87/7 after 29 overs.

Mendis continued to torment the Indian batting as he dismissed Dhoni on the second ball of the 27th over. India's miseries contiuned as wickets continued to tumble. Dhoni went hard at a ball only to get an outside edge and was well taken by Jayawardena at first slip.

Ajantha Mendis was then introduced in the attack and Yuvraj Singh got the first look at him. Mendis was at his very best as he beat Yuvraj on the first two balls. Yuvraj failed to judge this wizardry of Mendis. Yuvraj then decided to take the attck to Mendis as he smashed over the boundary for a huge six. Yuvraj was then dismissed by Mendis as the ball went through the gate and India lost it's fourth wicket. The new man in was skipper Dhoni. India were 73/4 after 20 overs.

The Indian batting was getting some balance as both left hander Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina, were starting to build a partnership. But Kulesekra had other plans as Raina chipped the ball and was caught at short cover and India lost their third wicket.

The Lankan, who were applying a lot of pressure on the Indian batsmen were rewarded for that as Kulesekara caught Kohli right in front of the wicket, as India lost it's second wicket. The new man in was Yuvraj Singh.

New man Suresh Raina, joined Virat Kohli as both batsmen started to add runs but were scoring in singles. The Sri Lankan bowling was keeping a lot of pressure on the batsmen.

Chaminda Vaas opened the bowling for the Lankans and for immediately on the mark as he dismissed Gautam Gambhir on the second ball of the Indian innings. Gambhir left a major gap between his bat and pad and the ball went through to rattle the stumps.

Toss: The Indian captain Mahender Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat first. India, which is missing Sehwag due to injury for this game has brought in Virat Kohli for his debut game.


Sri Lanka- Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Chamara Kapugedera, Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chaminda Vaas, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Ajantha Mendis, Muttiah Muralitharan.

India- Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt & wk), Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Pragyan Ojha, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel.