New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Dec 02, 2020-Wednesday



Select Country
Select city
Home / Cricket / Sri Lanka thrash Windies by 113 runs

Sri Lanka thrash Windies by 113 runs

The WC hosts fail to withstand the Sri Lankan bowling attack as wickets keep falling like a pack of cards, reports Anjali Behl.

cricket Updated: Apr 17, 2007, 20:23 IST
Anjali Behl
Anjali Behl

Sri Lanka trounced West Indies by 113 runs in the World Cup Super Eight match at the Providence Stadium in Georgetown, Guyana on Sunday. The World Cup hosts were skittled out for 190 in 44.3 overs.

Sri Lanka powered their way to post a mammoth total of 303 runs with considerable help from sloppy fielding by the opponents and a superb century by Sanath Jayasuriya.

This is the third successive defeat for the Windies, who will now depend on other teams' results to keep their semi-final hopes afloat. No hosts have ever won the World Cup and the West Indies look unlikely to change the trend. Lanka have four points as they go into the next match.

Jayasuriya was the Man of the Match for his blazing century coupled with two wickets.

West Indies innings

Windies started the innings on a horrendous note losing three key players with 42 runs on board. Dilhara Fernando leaped high to catch the ball dismissing Chris Gayle off Lasith Malinga's bowling.

Chaminda Vaas' inswinger dashed into the stumps to pack Dwayne Bravo in the ninth over, while Kumar Sangakkara's swift movement with the ball saw the return of Brian Lara. The glum face of the skipper only proved what was evident - Sri Lanka had the game by the scruff.

Wicketkeeper Sangakkara's 'smart' stumping proved fatal for Ramnaresh Sarwan off Jayasuriya. The third umpire did not take much time to declare him out at 44.

Muraliatharan trapped Marlon Samuels leg before in the 36th over. Next, Malinga and Sangakkara effected the run out of Dwayne Smith for a duck. Vaas caught the ball at deep midwicket to remove Denesh Ramdin off Jayasuriya's delivery. Malinga struck back to axe Shivnarine Chanderpaul - the highest scorer of the West Indian innings - at 76.

Following his previous dismissal, Murali came back to trap Jerome Taylor at 13. In the 45th over, Jayasuriya packed off Powell as Lanka registered a comprehensive win over the hosts.

Sri Lanka innings

Electing to field, the Windies had a heady start despatching two crucial wickets early in the game. Daren Powell's powerful delivery ripped through the stumps to dismiss a bewildered Tharanga for 8. Ramdin grabbed the ball that edged past Sangakkara's bat off Ian Bradshaw's delivery.

Jayasuriya hammered a quickfire ton - his 25th ODI century and third in the World Cups - as the Windies failed to slow him down. Puffing and panting, the batsman seemingly became more and more tired and Powell capitalised on the situation to send him off in the 39th over.

But the damage had been done, as the Matara mauler hit 115 which included ten boundaries and four sixes. Along with skipper Mahela Jayawardene, Jayasuriya braced the side with a 183-run stand.

Jayawardene failed to face a yorker off Bravo and walked back, smiling, at 82. Chamara Silva gifted a catch to Lara at wide mid-off in the 47th over. Dilshan ended the Lankan innings with a huge six in the crucial game for Windies.

The match was delayed due to a wet outfield following early morning showers.

Lanka made one change from the side that played against South Africa, bringing in paceman Dilhara Fernando in place of Farveez Maharoof. The Windies replaced Simmons and Collymore with pacemen Bradshaw and Taylor from the side that played the last match against New Zealand.


Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Kumar Sangakkara, Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Russel Arnold, Chamara Silva, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan.

West Indies: Brian Lara (capt), Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Dwayne Smith, Daren Powell, Jerome Taylor, Ian Bradshaw.

Get Latest Cricket Updates, Live scores and Top news on HT Cricket.

ht epaper

Sign In to continue reading