New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Feb 22, 2020-Saturday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Home / Cricket / India agree to play three Tests vs South Africa, 1st in Cape Town from January 5

India agree to play three Tests vs South Africa, 1st in Cape Town from January 5

India vs South Africa series to include six one-day internationals instead of five and three Twenty20 internationals will also be played.

cricket Updated: Sep 20, 2017 23:54 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
India’s tour dates of South Africa have been revealed.
India’s tour dates of South Africa have been revealed. (Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

Cricket South Africa (CSA) and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) ended the suspense and announced the fixtures for India’s upcoming tour of South Africa. The tour will include three Tests, six ODIs and three Twenty20 Internationals, with the first Test to begin in Cape Town on January 5.

Cricket South Africa, in a press release, said that the dates and venues for all the remaining fixtures will be confirmed shortly. India will arrive in South Africa on December 28 and their tour will begin with a two-day practice match at Boland Park, Benoni on December 30-31.

The release further stated, “The time constraints faced by India have forced us to reduce the Test matches to three while increasing white ball cricket to six ODIs and three T20I matches.”

South Africa have a lengthy home summer in 2017/18. Bangladesh will play two Tests, three ODIs and a Twenty20 International starting from September 28.

In addition to the Bangladesh series, South Africa has proposed a four-day Day-Night Test against Zimbabwe at Port Elizabeth on Boxing Day. The Test status of the match is subject to ICC approval.

After the Zimbabwe match, India will arrive and their home summer will end with Australia touring South Africa for four Tests.

India’s last tour to South Africa was in 2013 for two Tests and three ODIs. India lost the ODIs 2-0 while they lost the Tests 1-0.

The original plan of the tour was four Tests, three one-day internationals and three Twenty20 internationals.

Cricket South Africa wanted the first Test to start on December 26. But India have a home series against Sri Lanka, ending on December 24, and want to spend time in South Africa, including playing a warm-up match before the start of the Test series.

Sri Lanka were due to tour India from February end to the first week of April next year, but Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) requested the Indian Board to advance the series as they are suppose to host the tri-nation Independence Cup during that period.

Get Latest Cricket Updates, Live scores and Top news on HT Cricket.