Biplab Deb sworn in as Tripura CM, Modi says ‘light of prosperity’ lit in state

The BJP alliance won 43 out of 60 seats in Tripura assembly election. Left parties officially boycotted the swearing-in ceremony to protest against the post-election violence in the state.

india Updated: Mar 09, 2018 23:56 IST
Priyanka Deb Barman
Priyanka Deb Barman
Hindustan Times, Agartala
Tripura CM,Biplab Deb,Narendra Modi
Prime Minister Narendra Modi with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) national president Amit Shah and the new Tripura chief mnister Biplab Kumar Deb during the swearing-in ceremony of the newly elected ministers, in Agartala on Friday. (PTI)

Six days after ending the Left Front’s 25-year rule over Tripura, the first Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government in the northeastern state took charge on Friday.

Biplab Deb, a 48-year-old first-time member of the legislative assembly, who played a crucial role in the party’s victory as the state unit chief, was sworn in as chief minister by governor Tathagata Roy at the sprawling Assam Rifles ground here.

Jishnu Dev Barman of the BJP was sworn in as deputy chief minister.

Seven other ministers also took the office. Five of them, Sudip Roy Barman, Ratan Lal Nath, Shantana Chakma, Pranajit Singha Roy and Manoj Kanti Deb, are from the BJP and two, Narendra Chandra Debbarma and Mewar Kumar Jamatia, are from its alliance partner Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT).

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, party veterans LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi, and chief ministers of several BJP-ruled states.

Left parties officially boycotted the ceremony to protest against the post-poll violence in Tripura. The Communist Party of India (Marxist), the main opposition, was, however, represented by former chief minister Manik Sarkar, his finance minister Badal Choudhury and Lok Sabha member Jitendra Chaudhury.

Deb sought the four-time chief minister’s feet to seek his blessings.

Sarkar, who left the programme after the oath-taking ceremony, was escorted out by Modi.

“Today, Tripura is celebrating Diwali again. The light of prosperity, a new hope, new aspirations, have taken birth again,” Modi said in a speech.

“This new government will work for the people who have voted it to power and for them as well who didn’t vote for it. I hope the new team, headed by a young chief minister, and the experienced opposition representatives would work together to take the state in a new direction,” Modi said.

Earlier, Deb assured the gathering that he and his team would do their best for the state’s development. “If I commit any mistake in providing good governance, pull my ears to show me the right track. Treat me as your son and brother,” he said.

The BJP won 35 seats, the IPFT eight and the CPI (M) 16 seats in the 60-member Tripura assembly in the state election last month.Election to one seat was postponed because of the death of a candidate.

First Published: Mar 09, 2018 12:19 IST