Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 13, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Congress questions PM Modi for sending principal secretary to CJI Dipak Misra

The development comes a day after Justice J Chelameswar and three other sitting senior Supreme Court judges took on the Chief Justice of India over the allocation of benches, among other issues.

india Updated: Jan 13, 2018 20:42 IST
Agencies, New Delhi
Dipak Misra,Congress,Chief Justice of India
Principal secretary to PM, Nripendra Misra, seen outside Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra’s residence in Delhi.(ANI)

The Congress on Saturday asked Prime Minister Narendra Modi why he sent his principal secretary Nripendra Misra to Chief Justice Dipak Misra’s residence in New Delhi a day after four senior judges told the media that all was not well with the Supreme Court.

TV visuals showed Nripendra driving to the CJI’s official residence in New Delhi. However, the gates were not opened and after waiting for a while, the principal secretary to the prime minister was seen driving back.

“As PM’s Principal Secretary, Nripendra Misra visits CJI’s residence at 5, Krishna Menon Marg; PM must answer the reason for sending this special messenger to Chief Justice of India,” tweeted Congress spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala.

The development came a day after Justice J Chelameswar along with three other sitting senior Supreme Court judges took on Justice Misra over the allocation of benches, among other issues.

On Friday, in an unprecedented move, the four seniormost judges in the Supreme Court burst out in the open and accused the Chief Justice of not strictly adhering to the rules in assigning cases to appropriate benches, which they said could create “doubts” about the integrity of the top court.

Speaking to the media at the residence of Justice Chelameswar, the judges said the Supreme Court administration was “not in order” and released an undated letter they wrote to Justice Misra in which they conceded that the CJI was the “master of the roster” but this was “not a recognition of any superior authority, legal or factual, of the Chief Justice over his colleagues”.

The four judges were Justices Ranjan Gogoi, Kurian Joseph and Madan B Lokur, besides Justice Chelameswar.

First Published: Jan 13, 2018 14:26 IST